BeerPal Forums | back to Poll Discussion | Reply To This Topic | Start a New Topic

Poll: Lambics Then and Now
Displaying posts #1 to #15 of 17 | Jump to page
   < Previous Page   Next Page >   

AuthorMessage
Clash

2028 posts
Posted May 17 2012 at 9:26:57 AM   |
| Reply |

What was your opinion of lambics the first time you tried them vs. now?

-I have always liked them.
-I have always disliked them.
-Disliked then – Like now
-Liked then – Dislike now
-I’m new to the style, jury is still out.
-I’ve never tried any lambics.

Lambics are not exactly everyone's cup of beer (See what I did there). Lambics can be very tart and sour and contain some funky flavors that can be quite different from "traditional" beers. Talking with fellow beer folks over the years I've heard some say they hated them at first, others have always loved them, while others still don't get it.

***One other note - If Lindeman's (while technically a lambic) is the only kind you've had you may want to try more, those are not close to the funky tartness of many other lambics. Kind of like saying "Yeah I like imperial stouts, I've had Guinness"

Oh and Sam Adams Cranberry Lambic, doesn't count [V]
bradyrennie

61 posts
Posted May 17 2012 at 9:42:52 AM   |
|

Well, with this poll I've never tried a lambic beer except for the Sam Adams Cranberry Lambic, so I voted "I've never tried any lambics."

I'll have to watch the poll and see how it goes, then I'll give a few lambics a try this weekend. [:D]
fargingbastige6

3573 posts
Posted May 17 2012 at 10:53:55 AM   |
|

Had a few and never had one I liked... and that Sam Adams Cranberry is the absolute worst.
Phishpond417

1676 posts
Posted May 17 2012 at 11:49:32 AM   |
|

I've enjoyed lambics since the first time I had one. I definitely recommend to anyone here that's new to the style to go out and invest some dough in a good lambic.
mattfungus

827 posts
Posted May 17 2012 at 1:13:09 PM   |
|

I really liked the sam adams cranberry...