Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#70 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
pours a dark tanish brown, cola color, with no head or lacing. The aromar is of malts, dark fruits like plum, rasin, fig, roasted malts, caramel, some scottch, spices, corriander and lemon peel. The taste is of sweet malts, sugars and spices start this off. Lots of fruits mixed with the caramel malts gives this a ton of flavor. Very syrupy, the addition of corriander and brown sugars really comes out. A lot of fig and plum with some scottch really adds complexity. The mouthfeel is thin, even though it does taste syrupy. The tounge gets the malts, sugars and fruits, were palate gets alot of malts and the spices, espically corriander. Aftertaste is sweet, thin and fruity.
12/17/2012 6:58:48 PM |
1
0 
#69 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Pours a dark brown with a good sized tan head which leaves some spotty lacing. Spice and smoke aroma but quite weak. This ale deserves a better mouthfeel, seems a little watery. Love the flavour. Sweet malts, licorice, chocolate and some spice. Would have again.
12/11/2012 8:40:40 AM |
1
0 
#68 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Strong aroma has a malty and fruity core and a firm smoky overtone with molasses and mocha notes, more like a stout or porter. It pours a dark, barely translucent chocolate brown with a respectable light tan head that leaves some generous lacing. Mouth-filling flavor has firm fruity, malty, nutty and caramel tones plus subtle chocolate, coffee and toffee notes. It is sweet but not cloying, with just a touch of hop bitterness and a firm alcohol nip. Smooth, heavy texture has a syrupy feel and not a whole lot of fizz. This one is worthy of a hunt.
3/16/2012 1:42:27 AM |
1
0 
#67 Review by Jne5HusG from Unterleinleiter, Germany
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
330 ml capped bottle. Poured in a snifter an opaque and extremely dark-brown, close to black, coloured Ale with a small one finger beige foamy head that had a short retention and tons of micro bubbles. No carbonation. Poor lacing. The aroma is roasted malts, dark ripe fruits, raisins, plums, a touch of spices and molasses. The flavour is burnt roasted malts, cooked vegetables, cabbages, fruity,ripe raisins, figs, plums, chocolate, a touch of spices, coriander and herbal notes. The mouthfeel is fizzy, sparkling, fulled and smooth. This full bodied Ale has a dry sweety and bitter finish. A rich flavoured and interesting Ale.
2/12/2012 12:14:30 PM |
1
0 
#66 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 2.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 4 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 4 | Overall 3 |
Wow, this is not what I thought I bought at all! Super dark dark dark brown in the glass. Smell seems to be a bit sour and leather. Some orange candies and dates. Maybe some type of spirit, like grappa even... I really do not love this smell at all (just drank a supplication, maybe my pallatte hasn't adjusted yet). I definately feel like their is over steeped black tea all over the aroma and taste. If the smell I can't place is coriander, it is not fresh and liquorice like I love, its wet and soggy and rotten. Now that its been in the glass a few minutes it seems to be opening up a little bit to make room for something fruity/alcoholic and raisin. Roasty barley. Good soapy head retention. I want to like this but I can't seem to keep it comfortably in my mouth. Too bad for me, lots of other people dig it. I have one more, maybe it will do better for me... stay tuned!
11/18/2011 10:27:27 PM |
1
0 
#65 Review by HonkeyMoFo from Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
It pours a very thick and dark-brown with a very thin light-tan head and no real lacing. An aroma of chocolately, caramel malts, cola, orange and citrus, root beer, and light spiciness. The mouthfeel is smooth and fairly rich. Flavors of chocolatey malts, coffee, hops, orange and citrus, cola, root beer, and spiciness. Wonderful Scottish Ale!
11/12/2011 10:52:47 PM |
1
0 
#64 Review by ichorm from Cascadia, Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Nice to find this rarity. Quite dark, but still really clear. Light soapy head and equivalent lacing. Really nice, sweet, fruity aroma. Subtle at first, but really grew on me. Taste has all the characteristic plum/date and raisin flavors. Maybe a hint of licorice. Don't really taste the coriander, though a little malt and a little molasses are present. I'm glad to try/review this, and unlike many beers, I look forward to having it again. Just not too often. Nicely brewed, with a pleasant sweetness, aka not too much, that conceals the alcohol really well.
11/12/2011 9:43:20 PM |
1
0 
#63 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Nearly black in color. A small sopy textured, off white head rises briefly above. Settles into a thin ringlet. Smell of burnt molasses and some dark fruit. That same molassess sweetness and prune like aftertaste are in the flavoring. Not bad. Medium bodied. Not sure t merits it's pricing, though
9/28/2011 7:49:05 PM |
1
0 
#62 Review by pootz from between Calgary and Waterloo, Canada
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
33ml bottle. Finally got around to reviewing this great Scottish ale after sampling it in larger bottles in tastings. I got 6 of these smaller samples and drank them served warmer with a range of foods. Deep brown color with a small cap. Modest carbonation. Aroma is delicate but complex; musty sweetness, roasty grains, light smoke, spice and herbs.Flavor profile approximates a wee heavy with ample sweet malts, smokey peat tones some herbal tones and coriander. Wet finish with roasty bittering and light sweetness. The consumate Scots ale.
3/14/2011 9:30:49 PM |
0
0 
#61 Review by shrews824 from Leitchfield, KY, United States
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
Very dark amber/ruby color. Bright ruby highlights around the bottom and edges. A tan head with huge bubbles and not much size or retention. A tad of lacing left behind. Picking up hints of a dark roasted malt with some burnt grain. Some dark fruit sweetness in the aroma also. Some earthy tones reminiscent of some "smoke." Kind of even smells like a Red Wine. Some dark fruit in the taste. Similar to a prune. Some roasted malt in the taste also. Minute amounts of bitterness. Just a hint of the coriander, but not much however. A touch of the alcohol and a touch of the smoke. Medium/full mouthfeel. Some alcohol warmth. Leaves plenty on the palate. Mostly smooth. This beer is just ok for me. Nothing I will seek out really. Wasn't real easily drinkable. The combination of flavors and aromas were ok for 1 beer, but not something I want to try again or make a night of.
2/21/2011 12:59:54 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!