Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#147 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours dark copper with big frothy off white head that laces well. Caramel malt, pine and fruit aroma. Strong pine and grass flavour with caramel, nuts, bitter and soapy aftertaste. Medium well carbonated mouthfeel. Very strong dirty tasting beer.
9/10/2016 8:05:35 AM |
0
0 
#146 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
On tap at Bier Markt, Ottawa. Pours a big frothy bubbly head and has a fairly dark amber appearance. Thick dirty lacing. Aromas are quite malty with a bit of a hoppy bitter smell. Flavours are quite hoppy. Starts off with a bit of a raisin taste at first and then a smooth earthy and resin hop finish. This one goes down too nicely. Great retention and lively carbonation. Very good overall.
3/1/2015 7:04:55 PM |
0
0 
#145 Review by cyrenaica from Milton, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
400ml draught
7.2% ABV
The Beerbistro (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) February 17, 2015
The beer poured a tranlucent dark copper colour with a foamy light tan coloured head. The aroma is citrusy hops, grains, and caramel. The mouthfeel is medium full bodied with average carbonation. The flavour is grapefruit hops, burnt caramel, and weak yeast notes. Best new beer of 2015 so far.

2/17/2015 7:27:15 PM |
1
0 
#144 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours think and black like a porter. And really smells good but taste more like a IPA. It is bitter but after the second drink it smoothed out. I would suggest it to those who enjoy IPAs.
1/5/2014 4:49:44 PM |
0
0 
#143 Review by Slim Jim from Watertown, WI, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
This is another great stone offering. Dark amber color, full hop nose and lively flavor. The malt backing supports the hops and results in a well balanced brew.
2/3/2013 8:19:16 PM |
0
0 
#142 Review by scoren75 from hugo, MN, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
The first few swigs kicked my arse flavor wise. Hangs in the back of your throat and eventually kills the taste buds (much like any hoppy bitter beer will). After you get past the first few sips it gets much easier and you should start to enjoy it. It definitely has an aquired taste. I think the label on the bottle sums it up nicely. Read it and take it into consideration before you buy it. Don't let it scare you though :) Definitely worth a try!
12/26/2012 10:12:30 PM |
0
0 
#141 Review by hantran from New Fairfield, CT, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Classic hop nose of pine and lemon (yes I get thirsty whenever I use Pledge or Pinesol), is balanced with some malty notes ( I get maple syrup, your milage may vary. Dark copper body with hints of red topped by an offwhite foamy head with excellent lace. Mouth is nicely slick, full bodied, and carbonation level is excellent. This hoppy strong ale avoids being simply a mouth full of grapefruit, its much more piney/herbal with very big bittering that is nicely balanced with a midtaste of caramel malts, big malt profile hidden away here. The finish is ever so slightly sour and the alcohol is present. Some prunes and figs in this one. Lovely.
9/30/2012 8:14:32 PM |
0
0 
#140 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Dark ruby color with light brown foam lacing to the glass. Smells like wood, initial taste is wood, then changin to some sweet fruit and caramel, then changing to bitter. Bitter taste lasts long. Although I am not worthy according to the text on the bottle I will for sure have this one again. (Houston 201205)
7/25/2012 6:13:10 AM |
0
0 
#139 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours a deep chestnut brown with a red hue and a small off white head that slowly dissipated with moderate glass lacing. The aroma is of lemon citrus and a floral bouquet. The mouthfeel is medium-bodied and low carbonation. The taste is of lemon and grass hops with a bit of caramel up front.
6/3/2012 5:44:40 PM |
0
0 
#138 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Brought from cali by a friend, big ups to Mikey. Well had the oak aged before this. I prefer this. Really malty, like a 7.2% barley wine almost. tons of grapefruit hops, bitter, but not too bitter, Alcohol presence is right where I prefer it, present but not dominant. Smooth and a bit of syrup. Some dried fruits show up here and there, never all the time, and not all at the same time, sometimes dried peaches, sometimes dates, sometimes dried apple (does that exist?). Good beer, but I have still not had a stone that lives up to the self promotion or the hype....
7/5/2011 4:22:55 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!