Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

#8 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 2.8 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 5 | Overall 6 |
Pours a golden yellow with a very thin head and no lacing. Little carbonation. Aromas of slightly sweet malts, some sweet corn and slight hops. Taste is malty with a very slight apple sweetness and little hops.
6/29/2008 9:26:35 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by coderre7 from Huntington Beach, CA, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
This brew needs to be appreciated for what it is..a thirst cracker. Pouring a golden brown, this beer makes a humid day during the summer months that much more manageable. Hops, grain and rice dominate the immediate flavor and the clean smooth finish surely makes this a go-to brew when stacked against the nonsense brews out there known as Budweiser and Miller.
11/17/2006 9:25:03 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by EyeChartBrew from CA, Liechtenstein
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Wow, it's been so hot (for so long) here in San Diego, that I've resorted to falling back onto cheap Caribbean beers -- a pseudo-Cuban beer, at that!

But really? This isn't bad. For cutting a thirst, when the weather is hot and frightful (and, recently, humid, which *never* happens normally in SD), this surely did a decent enough job. Better than Medala, which I drank more than my fair share of in Puerto Rico in `92 -- and perhaps a notch below Red Stripe. So, not a stellar beer, but pretty much middle-of-the-road, as far as the various Caribbean beers that have crossed my path more often than I care to remember...!

Fairly clean in the mouthfeel and flavor profile, with a fairly easy-peasy middle and finish. Perhaps a touch on the estery side of things in the backend. And I'm not really sure how or why I got something of the pre-pre-pre-stages of a headache from this -- probably just too much sun and heat, and not enough liquid in me.

But as far as this beer goes, it does what it's supposed to, no frills, no flase pretenses, no dillusional retro marketing or what-have-you. Just a basic Lager, for beating back the hottest Summer in memory.

Music: Gammacide's "Victims Of Science"
//TB

7/25/2006 9:37:19 PM |
0
0 
#5 Review by hig from carlstadt, NJ, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Probably like this beer because it was one of my first, back in the navy in Cuba. It wasn't the only beer available, but it was cheap (American beers were imported, and treated with preservative). Learned to like it, especially with Cuban food. It was produced a few yeares ago for awhile. I had one last night (5-13-06). Still tastes pretty good, and brings back memories.
5/14/2006 11:36:51 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by beerguy101 from Newark, CA, United States
Score: 1.8 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 3 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 3 |
This pale lager pours a fizzy yellow gold from a green 12oz bottle. Small sized white foamy head. Aroma is skunk, corn, and old sweat socks. There may be a little grain and grass in there as well. A medium to light bodied pale lager. Malts are a little grainy, but mainly sweet with a touch of cereal and corn. Very skunky, very sweet, not very interesting and it has all that skunk going for it. Well, add Puerto Rico to the country list. Mouthfeel is full. Finish is crisp. Aftertaste is bitter and skunky.
12/16/2005 10:20:36 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by Bov from Bienne, Switzerland
Score: 2.4 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 6 |
clear pale golden colour, almost no foam, corny and vanilla aroma, sweet, light to medium-bodied, quite watery finish with just a peppery touch - not bad at all
10/21/2005 9:47:55 AM |
0
0 
#2 Review by Dick Miller from Harrisburg, PA, United States
Score: 2.5 | Aroma 0 | Appearance 0 | Mouthfeel 0 | Flavor 0 | Overall 0 |
This is a gimmick beer trying to imitate the Hatuey beer from Cuba. I had the original Hatuey in Havana and it was pretty bad. This one tastes a little better.
11/6/2004 10:49:24 AM |
0
0 
#1 Review by Vac from San Diego, California, United States
Score: 1.9 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 3 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 3 | Overall 3 |
Pours with a pale golden body topped by a thin white head with a decent amount of lace. Sour skunky aroma with a yeasty undertone and a touch of sweetness. Slightly sweet yet sour malty flavor with bitter yeasty accents. Tastes watered down. Very light bodied, watery and smooth.
8/21/2003 9:42:00 AM |
0
0 
 
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!