Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#30 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Aroma has a strong overtone of sour fruit and bourbon.bIt pours an opaque cola brown, not much of a head. Tart flavor has notes of cherry, bourbon, sour apple - and will make your face do calisthenics! Firm texture lacks fizz, but leaves a lasting sour fruit finish.
9/18/2015 9:47:49 PM |
0
0 
#29 Review by Sigmund from Tau, Norway
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Bottle, as The Lost Abbey Cuvée de Tomme, kindly shared by gunnar. Dark ruby colour, large beige head. Unusual and very complex aroma, oaky and vinous notes, sour cherries and farmhouse. Sour flavour but not extreme, the cherries are there but not totally dominant, also oaky notes.
11/22/2011 2:26:07 PM |
0
0 
#28 Review by kinger from North Canton, oHIo, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Lifeless non-carbonated dark body (well what did you expect?). Tart cherries, vanilla and wood with a dose of chocolate. Nice and mildly sour. The flatness of the beer didn't deter from my perception as the sour body seemed more upfront this way. A very solid beer from beginning to end.
9/11/2011 9:06:30 PM |
0
0 
#27 Review by oh6gdx from Vaasa, Finland
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Bottled. Deep rubyish amber colour with a small beige head. Aroma is sour cherries, cherry pips, some mildvanilla, alcohol as well as dark dry fruits. Also some mild plum and sour wooden notes. Flavour is sour wood, sour cherries, some mild vanilla, mild wood as well as some slight spices and alcohol. Actually quite beautifully balanced.
4/4/2011 11:37:08 PM |
0
0 
#26 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
a LONG time wish list item. lost abbey bottle and cork, not Port, but listed together here anyway. i was actually steeling myself to be slightly underwhelmed. the last couple LA sours were very good, but not quite great and in my little brain, this needed to be epic to justify it's top 30 rank. upon opening the bottle and sniffing the cork, ALL worries went out the window. One of the best aromas of any beer i've ever had. after the amazing grace, which was more sour than expected, this was less, which i'd have thought a bad thing, but the slightly tart chocolate covered cherry and tobacco aroma was just amazing. the tartness comes through a little more in the flavor, but still a minor player. time may change that. pours a red/brown with no head, and the lack of carbonation is the only thing preventing this from getting a near perfect score. we're hoping this develops some bubbles in the bottle, as a friend and I each have a bottle to sit on for a while...and I've never looked forward to the aging of a beer as much as this one. EXCELLENT!!! 2012 - too bad. didn't age worth a crap. almost a drainpor. Hmmm...
2/26/2011 10:48:45 AM |
0
0 
#25 Review by zythum from union city, CA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
sampled 7/8/09. 375ml bottle with mitch. vintage 09. pours a murky medium brown color. a thin film of head. aroma is oaky, funky, cherry, sweet. taste is sour and yet a little sweet, funky, cherry, oak, tart, a little chocolate as it warms. hides the alcohol. carbonation is light, which works really well with this beer. body is medium. lingering aftertaste is nicely tart. wish i had a few bottles of this to put away. thanks for opening this, mitch!
1/3/2011 12:47:16 PM |
0
0 
#24 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Tomme might be the biggest bitch in the brewing universe, but the man sure can make a good sour.. . Pours a light red tan .. . flavours of assorted berries, wood, cherry, jolly ranchers, funk, and titty residue .. . just an awesome libation, just a pity its made by such a twat.. Wishlist cross off.. originally put on:11/21/2006 .. . You hold it or else I’ll break it off and kick it around on the ground!
11/25/2010 12:57:55 PM |
0
0 
#23 Review by ante from Stockholm, Sweden
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours out in a cloudy reddish brown colour with a small bubbly off-white head. Rich deep and really fruity and woody aroma of black cherries, blackberries, honey, mild brett and lactic acid. Full-bodied with rich notes of ofblack cherries, brett, wood, lemon-zest and tart cherry-skins. Long fruity dryish aftertaste of black cherries, brett and wood.
8/22/2010 3:54:45 AM |
0
0 
#22 Review by Phil B from Gatineau, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Bottle: Poured a deep cloudy reddish color ale with a small bubbly head with minimal retention and not much lacing. Aroma of sour and tart notes with some cherries and light oak notes are all noticeable. Taste is close to a Flander red style beer with loads of oak and cherry notes and a well balanced tart finish. Balanced acidity is well appreciated while Brett is very hard to notice. Body is quite full with limited filtration and low carbonation. Well made though not s complex as some of the staple of the style such as Rodenbach.
12/20/2009 10:50:18 PM |
0
0 
#21 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
When the bottle was being brought to me, it looked similar to a Cantillon, but alas it was not. It poured a mahogany colour which forced me to ask myself if knew where I was going to. The aroma was complex with hints of fruit, maple sugar, and yeast. The flavour was a little on the tart side with a hint of sour cherries. Alright in my eyes, but not outstanding.
3/16/2009 2:07:49 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!