Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#93 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Finally got a can on my last trip to Vermont. A bit hard to get find in Canada. Pours an average size frothy creamy tan head and has a deep dark black appearance with some amber highlights. Decent sticky lacing. Alcohol smell is instantly noticeable. Aromas of dark roasted malts, chocolate, coffee, cocoa, some subtle notes of dry fruit, vanilla, a bit of resin. Flavours are also abundant, mostly with the chocolate and dark roasted malts, the usual coffee and cocoa are there as well. A little bit of a bourbon like finish on the palate. Smooth, slick and slightly oily mouthfeel. The alcohol is nicely hidden and just slightly noticeable, much more than aroma. Gets a little smokey the longer it sits, which is great. Should've picked up a few more cans, maybe next time. :P
5/14/2018 6:17:19 PM |
2
0 
#92 Review by hantran from New Fairfield, CT, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Black cheery, coffee, and cotton candy in the nose. Dead black body with a caramel colored head that is long lasting and with minimal lace. Nice round mouth that is medium bodied. Very complex flavor but overall sweet. Toffee and coffee in the initial flavor, goes quite sweet in mid-taste, then goes to ripe dark fruit,alcohol present and warming at the end with hops finally kicking in for a bit of tartness in the finish, final ending sour and fruity.
1/3/2016 12:22:43 AM |
1
0 
#91 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Pours opaque sable with a light tan head. Rich, sweet aroma has notes of molasses, roast malt, caramel and licorice. Flavor presents roast malt, molasses, caramel, and subtle chocolate and pepper notes. Drivin’ me wild! Viscous texture has some good fizz. One more beer off me bucket list.
4/23/2015 8:51:05 PM |
0
0 
#90 Review by beerdog from Cloverdale, BC, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Finally broke down and opened the 750ml bottle I bought back in March 2009 from the sadly defunct Vin de Pays in Long Beach, CA. Murky black pour, small brown head, no carbonation. Aroma of coffee and chocolate. Uber buttery mouthfeel. Flavour was out of this world, some coffee, seemingly endless chocolate, hint of licorice. 12% ABV yet not boozy. Supremely well balanced. Doesn't get better than this.
2/20/2015 6:59:34 PM |
1
0 
#89 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours pitch black with a sub one finger head that goes down quickly. Aroma is very intense with hints of coffee, chocolate, liquorice, and toffee. Lacks carbonation. taste is also intense with hints of brewers liquorice, dark roasted malts, and dark chocolate. Coffee is there but a tad subdued. You get the booze at the very beginning and very end, middle of it you get the flavors. Not too much of a burn going down but it is a warmer. Awesome imperial. Kinda chewy at the end.
11/17/2013 11:13:24 PM |
1
0 
#88 Review by Beav from Fort Collins, CO, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
750 ml bottle, bottled on 9/3/13. Pours dark brown black with a medium creamy brown head that retains well and laces the glass some.

The aroma is roasted, grainy, fudgy, chocolate with a little coffee.

The flavor is bitter roast, grains, chocolate, black licorice, a little dark fruit and some light roast coffee. The mouthfeel is medium to full bodied with smooth carbonation.

Overall, solid imperial stout. This bottle seems lighter on the coffee than other samples I've had.

9/25/2013 1:41:40 AM |
1
0 
#87 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Finally available in NY. Well worth the short trip across the border. Almost black pour....enough about that. This is just an excellent beer. Everything an impy stout should be and more. Flavour and mouthfeel, outstanding. I'm sure my boss would understand if I had one more and arrived at work a little later than normal. Will buy again.
5/22/2013 10:14:51 PM |
1
0 
#86 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Finally got a bottle of this at the City Market Coop in Burlington, VT. Second AleSmith of the Easter weekend, and last beer of this trip. Pours a real dark colour, almost black, with a big mocha creamy head, great retention. Big dark fruits (plums, raisins) aromas with hints of nuts. Again, really fruity for taste. Kind of disappointed with this one, as I expected lots of coffee and more roasted malts being a stout. Feels more like a strong porter.
3/31/2013 11:57:20 PM |
1
0 
#85 Review by ggrumet from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Deep black body with an intense brown head - a truly beautiful beer to behold. Strong aromas of chocolate and coffee with notes of estery alocohol and earthy smokiness. This is SMOOTH - my bottle has about a year on it. Flavors of charred oak, strong coffee, smoke, tobacco, and chocolate covered espresso beans accompany a thick and creamy body. This is a real treat and a great way to end a long work week while sitting by the fire. Truly a phenomenal stout.
1/17/2013 9:08:20 PM |
1
0 
#84 Review by wadeiac from Lehighton, PA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
This is by far the best bottled stout that I have had. It has a creamy long lasting head and dark brown almost black appearance. It is slightly sweet tasting and is full of flavors like chocolate and coffee without being overpowering. The only complaint that I can find is that the bottle was empty before I knew what happened. I found that a Wegmans near me allways has it on the shelf now so I can get it whenever I want some.
9/22/2012 4:17:13 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!