Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#15 Review by jerrymorrison from Angleton, TX, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
I can't believe that I have never rated this one, well.... Aromas and flavors of slightly toasted caramel malts a touch of herbal hops. Flavor is good but light, kinda hard to pick up on. Reddish brown body, ok lace and head. Not really a good representation of a brown ale, but a nice enough brew.
2/23/2012 5:13:19 PM |
0
0 
#14 Review by beerguy101 from Newark, CA, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Sampled at GABF on 9/17/2010. This brown ale pours a light brown color from the tap. Large sized white foamy head. The aroma is fruity and sweet, bready and nutty. A medium to light bodied brown ale. The malts are fruity and sweet. The hops are herbal. Touch of nuttiness with some residual sweetness. Clean and smooth. Good drinkability. Mouthfeel is full and round. Finish is clean and smooth. Aftertaste is slightly sweet.
9/19/2010 1:50:28 PM |
0
0 
#13 Review by unclemike232 from fort riley, KS, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
This is a pretty good brown, it’s got a northern style to it for sure, which i much prefer. Not as brown as I would expect, it’s more of a light brown with some amber thrown in there. Aroma is caramel malt, somewhat sweet honey smelling. Taste is well balanced i must say. They use a killer yeast on this beer, nice fruity, sweet, and malty. There’s a clean hop finish too. I’m not the biggest brown fan, but this is pretty good.
10/19/2008 8:12:51 AM |
0
0 
#12 Review by doulos31 from Middletown, DE, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Beer pours an almost ruby red brown color, crystal clear, with almost no head and lacing. The flavor was very sweet for a brown ale, almost bock-like in it. Some off flavor was also present. A very high level of carbonation left the tongue rather tingly. An okay beer, but hardly worth the effort of toting back from Texas to Delaware. Oh well.
5/24/2008 12:00:53 PM |
0
0 
#11 Review by acohrs02 from Beaumont, TX, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
This is a very good brown ale. Pours a pretty normal brown color with slightly off white head. Flavor is very nice with chocolate overtones. The aroma is pretty good too.
6/11/2007 12:33:00 AM |
0
0 
#10 Review by EyeChartBrew from CA, Liechtenstein
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
The first time I ever had a Texan microbrew was when I was sent down to Galveston, to meet a Navy ship I first starting working on in both Bath ME and Norfolk VA; it was being commissioned in Galveston, for some reason or another. It was off-season, so of the few places that were still open and hopping, very few had much more than BMCS (BudMillerCoorsShiner). But I found one place, who's name escpaes me to this day, that had a rather nice bottled beer selection. And it was there that I was first introduced the Saint Arnold line of beers -- including this offering.

And you know what? My memory of this from `01 was right on the money -- this *is* a rather tasty beer!

Looks more Red than Brown, or maybe that's just a trick with the lights, and the beer shows up in my Bar Harbor Real Ale pint glass. Decent head retention and lacing, too.

Aroma? Rather on the hoppy side of the spectrum, really.... Much more along the lines of what I recently found in Bear Republic's Brown Ale, really. Not that it's a bad thing, but a little surprising for the intended "English Brown Ale" style....

Tasty stuff, here. More than just a standard chewy malt-bill here, but rather it seems that some real thought was put into formulating and tweaking this beer's overall flavor profile. I enjoyed the hop profile with this one, though again, seems perhaps a tad out-of-character.

Nice mouthfeel, with some appealing backend sweetness finding favor with me (surprisingly enough). Easy drinkability, though I have to admith that I probably wouldn't want to drink this (and nothing else) all night long. The dry-front and sweet-back might get old over the long haul.

But for the short-term? A winner, me'thinks. Not overally complex, but quite appealing and quaffable, that's for sure.

Music: Purged's "Form Of Release" //TB

9/21/2006 11:15:14 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by Dansting from Overland Park, KS, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle. Poured a clear, amber color with a thin, white head and no lacing. Did not really look like a brown ale. Sweet caramel and malty aroma. Nice mouthfeel. Sweet caramel flavor with a malty aftertaste. Tastes like a brown ale, yet it's not too flavorful. The flavor that it does have is good though.
6/3/2006 11:36:50 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by aracauna from Adairsville, GA, United States
Score: 2.7 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Thin fizzy head with big bubbles like a soda. Citrusy hops predominate the the aroma. Grapefruit-like hop flavor dominates. The body is a little thin and watery for a brown ale. It really lets you focus on the hops. This wouldn't be bad if it were a pale ale, but you kind of hope for a maltier flavor from a brown.
1/15/2006 10:28:30 AM |
0
0 
#7 Review by herbjones from Orange, CA, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 8 |
Sweet malty nose. Nice roasted caramel flavor. Light to medium body and a very easy drinker. Decent brown.
10/30/2005 11:21:03 AM |
0
0 
#6 Review by JohnC from Mission Viejo, CA, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
reddish brown color that pours with an off white head. Roasted grain aroma with caramel notes. Not a strong aroma. The flavor is toasty. the body is light. This is a good ’every day’ beer.
6/7/2005 7:47:44 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!