Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

#10 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
one of the better, more flavorful american hefes i've had to date. big aroma and flavor of yeast, bananas, and clove. refreshing. light bodied but jam-packed with flavor. well done.
1/28/2012 3:10:59 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Draught is always the best way to have a Hefeweizen in my opinion and this is no different. A beautiful glowing yellow with a white cap. Lots of banana and the spice in the aroma and flavour.
12/2/2011 8:32:44 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by jerrymorrison from Angleton, TX, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
I cant belive i havent reviewed this one yet, Live oaks hefe is a good one. Aroma of clove and banana, a cloudy straw colored body with a thin head. Flavors of vanilla, banana, clove and bubblegum with good balance amongst them. Mouthfeel is light but refreshing, a clean slightly tart finish. Overall its a good beer that can keep up with the best of its peers, definetley worth trying.
9/18/2008 11:14:25 AM |
0
0 
#7 Review by Sap from Tucson, AZ, United States
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 8 |
A softish pour produces an almost one finger thick, pale, tan tinged head that sits on top of a deeply hazy, straw colored beer. When held up directly to the light it picks up some orange tints, but is still completely opaque. The aroma is quite hearty, lots of yeast notes from, surprise - surprise, actual yeast as well as ample clove notes, a hint of banana and lots of wheat / grain aromas. This last supplies some wheat-tartness, aromas of crushed saltine crackers and a rich, chewy, crushed grain aroma. The tartness accentuates a touch of fruitiness reminiscent of something like a cross between a pear and tropical fruit. This is just very hearty smelling for a HefeWeizen & quite enjoyable, the depth of the grain character is quite nice.

Not as thick as I was expecting based on the rich aromas, instead it has a nice light texture & heft to it like a good HefeWeizen should. I was half expecting / dreading that this was going to be overly under-attenuated, I am quite happy it is not. Perceived sweet notes linger on the palate with a mix of clove and banana notes. Soft and creamy, yet with a prickly carbonation, this beer has a certain viscousness to it that coats the palate, but does not keep this from being light and quaffable. Lightly tart, which accentuates a very soft fruitiness, but mostly plays up the chewy wheat flavors. This has lots of grain character to it; chewy, slightly dried-grass like, a bit of hay, a full wheat grain flavor and a crushed cracker note. The finish has a mix of clove flavors, light hop bitterness and a slight, herbal hop flavor.

As the beer warms a bit the banana flavors become a bit more accented & this accentuates an up front, grain sweetness. This is eminently quaffable; there is just enough sweetness to accentuate some soft fruit, clove and grain character. Really it is the fresh grain character that makes this beer so tasty; I can't remember having a HefeWeizen that tasted fresher and the vibrant grain character is what is driving this vibrancy. This only gets tastier and more well balanced as it warms up. I am towards the end of my 22oz serving and am finding myself wishing for more; the banana is definitely much more noticeable than the clove that was more noticed at the cooler temps, but it is still not overly much. This is a damn tasty HefeWeizen, a style that I have forgotten how good it can actually be if done correctly; this is certainly one of the finest examples that I have had, my guess is that they use a Decoction mash; there is almost no better way to get such a vibrant grain character into a beer. Fantastic!

6/19/2008 7:38:00 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by doulos31 from Middletown, DE, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
On tap at the Flying Saucer, San Antonio. Pours with a golden/straw color, aroma of wheat and bananas leap from the glass. This thing has a rich wheat base, which I like with just the right amount of banana and a hint of bubblegum. Lots of cloves as well and even a mild hop kick. Rich and thick, yet still clean and refreshing. Probably the best hefe I’ve had.
5/24/2008 11:43:55 AM |
0
0 
#5 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Birthday! .... Quite tangy 4 a hefeweizen ... very refreshing ... is a peach juice colour .. lacing is over average ... hate to say it but might benefit from a lemon wedge?!?! ... decent but fresh ... i will have this again because I know this is better than my score..
5/3/2008 8:27:00 AM |
0
0 
#4 Review by riverafm from Austin, TX, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Modeled after the classic wheat beers of Bavaria, our HefeWeizen has a cloudy, straw-colored appearance with a thick, creamy head. It is fermented with an authentic Weizenbier yeast strain which imparts delicate notes of clove, vanilla and banana which harmonize perfectly with its mild refreshing tartness. Together these flavors create the perfect thirst quencher to beat the Texas heat
9/2/2006 2:56:07 AM |
0
0 
#3 Review by willblake from Brick, NJ, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
09.30.05 GABF An almost syrupy appearance, this stuff is thick, opaque, and generally attractive beneath a thick white head. Luscious aromas of wheaty fruits, peaches, lemongrass, and touches of spice. Mouthfeel is light and effy, despite it’s thick appearance, but it’s plenty coating and there’s a crispness about it that pleases. This would be nice with pub fare. Pretty sweet, but with enough background and finishing tart acidity to keep you coming back. Not at all cloying.
1/18/2006 8:04:57 PM |
0
0 
#2 Review by Hannah from OK, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours a bright and misty gold color with a creamy, short-lived head. The gentle aroma is grainy and sweet, yet complex with spices. The flavor is round and perfectly balanced with sweet wheat taking on light fruits (green, ripe, and citrus) and winning. The whole beer is a winner--Perhaps the best hefe I have tasted. Perfect for session drinking.
8/24/2005 8:31:00 PM |
0
0 
#1 Review by Brett from near BierKraft, OK, United States
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 8 |
Sampled on draft, Ginger Man, Dallas. I've heard a fair amount of criticism of American-made hefes. Live Oak Hefeweizen will make a skeptic believe that American breweries can nail this style. Cloudy, tarnished gold in appearance with a scattered white head. Aroma is clean with some lemon and notes of banana. Banana, clove, pepper, vanilla/bubblegum are found amid the tart wheat flavor. Very complex, sophisticated & understated. Medium-bodied, moderately carbonated and creamy-smooth. Balanced with a clean finish. A MUST try. I'm not certain what the brewer could do to make this beer any better.
8/23/2005 7:41:01 PM |
0
0 
 
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!