Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

#10 Review by Qatfish from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Big review night with the local Brew Crew: 18 different beers with barbecue, delicious desserts, and good company. Color is dark and ruddy, clear, with a very fine head. The coffee aroma is quite strong and the flavor even more intense. A little acid detracts from dark fruit, but this is a solid performer. Feels a bit too bubbly for my tastes.
1/20/2014 12:58:49 AM |
0
0 
#9 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
A ebony colored beer witha big tannish foamy textured head. There's good hang time on the head. Settles into a thick clingy film and nice ringlet and cap. Such a nice fresh brewed coffee nose. That same coffee mixed with roasty maltiness. A bit bitterness, a little grassiness, a little licorce. All in a medium bodied, creamy ale.
11/14/2012 5:44:14 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by Stoutlover72 from Northern, California, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
12oz bottle, received via trade with bluesandbarbq

First, a big thanks to Louis for sending me this beauty. A stunning beer from beginning to end. I've had a few of their beers and their Mocha Stout had been my favorite, but this is now king of the hill. It pours out a dark brown/black body with a thick, creamy medium/dark tan head. Long lasting throughout the glass. It doesn't get much better than that. Aroma is chock full of coffee/chicory goodness. You could say that's it's one dimensional but it's a great dimension...lol. The flavor opens up a little more and has a little more depth than the flavor, and coming to the porter party is coffee's good friend chocolate. I don't know if it's just me, but I also got some chocolate chip cookie in this beer...crazy. Mouthfeel is spot on, silky smooth..full and round and it really helps support the flavors crashing around on the palate. I couldn't have been more happier with this product and those in the south should celebrate this beer whenever possible. It reminds me in many ways of Meantime's coffee porter or Midnight Sun's coffee porter, but this is better than those two I think.

6/1/2012 12:18:18 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by Jabah from Winter Park, FL, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Solid 4s all-around on the ratings. Their oatmeal porter may win by a tad on my scale (for flavor). Almost the same beer but with coffee instead. Chocolate malty with decent hopped finish. I am liking every beer from Highland. One of the better east-coast brewers IMO.
5/22/2012 2:30:34 AM |
0
0 
#6 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
at first, a little light on the nose, but it opened up quite nicely. light bodied and easy drinking, yet had a smooth texture and flavor that was definitely enjoyable...mostly dark coffee, roasted malt, and a hint of chocolate. Thanks Lou!
4/10/2012 2:32:06 PM |
0
0 
#5 Review by Clash from Chattanooga, TN, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pitch black with very little head. Aroma contains some chocolate and coffee. Flavor is rather bitter with some coffee, dark chocolate, and licorice. Full bodied and bitter. Overall a good beer.
1/25/2012 3:17:27 AM |
0
0 
#4 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Strong aroma is mainly quality roast coffee and sweet chocolate, like a mocha from a good coffeehouse. It pours a nearly-black opaque sable with a thick, fine-bubbled, almost Guinness-like tan head that stays around for a bit. Superb flavor is more like coffee than porter - quality coffee, like something from Starbucks or Caribou Coffee, not cheap instant. It also has a subtle malty undertone and a hint of licorice. Sweetness and bitterness balance each other nicely. Texture has plenty of fizz and above-average body. Maybe it won't leave you thunderstruck, but it's an outstanding brew.
1/11/2012 9:22:26 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by fargingbastige6 from Birmingham, AL, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Courtesy of Lou... what a great beer! Pours thick, rich black with a two-finger tan head and lacing forever and a day. Sweet, rich toffee and chocolate - and the coffee notes are really nice. Texture is somewhere between porter and stout... robust without being overwhelming. Dried fruit add a subtle contrast to the coffee bitterness. very nice - and thanks, Lou!
12/28/2011 9:03:21 AM |
0
0 
#2 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Near black pour, with a medium tan head, good lacing. Roasted malt and coffee upfront, slight cocoa and molasses, goodness in the aroma. Taste is weak black coffee with cocoa, slightly sweet molasses and malts, thin, typical porter mouthfeel, with a very nice little coffee bitter linger in the finish. VERY nice addition to Highland's line up.
12/3/2011 8:32:35 PM |
0
0 
#1 Review by Phishpond417 from Oregon, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Just picked this up earlier in the week and it's fantastic! Spicey, coffee infused goodness. It's hard to ignore the chile notes that surround this beer. Pitch black, well carbonated brew that leads to plenty of froth. Aroma is fresh roasted beans, dates and fig.
11/13/2011 6:54:22 PM |
0
0 
 
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!