Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#12 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Surprise find in Lexington @ Liquor Barn: inviting lightly hazy orange amber pour with a near perfect off white head and generous lacing. Some carbonation. Malty aroma - sweet - and slight floral hop notes with a kiss of orange peel. Taste is lightly sweet malts with a bit of honey, slight floral/honeysuckle hops bitter, a touch of citrus, mainly orange. Slight floral bitter linger. This beer hides the ABV very well; very very nice on a warm spring evening. Fantastic Helles Bock. Wish List Item crossed off! (yeah me.)
4/19/2011 6:57:00 PM |
0
0 
#11 Review by treborius from Uniondale, NY, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
I really enjoyed this beer, far more than I thought I would. A beautiful shimmering orange gold color, slightly hazy, with a very thin head. A good malty nose, nice hint of hops in the back end. Tastes like a bock should. Slightly sweet and grainy, with a good bitter finish.
3/16/2011 2:10:25 PM |
1
0 
#10 Review by doulos31 from Middletown, DE, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
I dug this. Pour was orangey yellow, with huge fluffy head. Aroma was sweet grain. Flavor profile was similar, lots of grainy/pilsner like malts, but a lot of sweet honey and booze. This was unique and really well done.
2/17/2011 10:52:04 AM |
0
0 
#9 Review by Ragnarok from Junction City, Kansas, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
As I delve into the Anniversary brews from SN, I am finding more to my liking. This bock is no different. Agressive brew to say the least. Spice and rich malts with a balance of hops. Comes together real well. Seasonal brew. Warms nicely with an increase to room temp. Layered and complex. You almost think that this is a collabaration. Would pair well with a rich, chicken or pork meal. BBQ or baked. Rotisseri or fried. Slainte!!!
11/21/2010 6:07:38 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by dogfoodman from Redwood Valley, CA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
A very sturdy, and satisfying brew. lots of malty goodness, enough alcohol to make the experience worthwhile, kind of expensive, but due to its limited distribution it is worth the time and money
10/23/2010 12:41:26 AM |
0
0 
#7 Review by Stoutlover72 from Northern, California, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
750ml bottle -

Aroma - lots of malt in the aroma, lots of grass clippings and some bready yeast...some apples too

Appearance - bright clear amber/copper body, pillowy 3" white cap, sticky lacing

Taste - quite sweet, but balanced by the alcohol bite....lots of grainy malts with a medium sweetness to it.

Palate - medium-high carbonation, lively and sprite-like

Overall - admittedly, bocks aren’t tops on my list as favorite styles but this was nice. I wouldn’t buy it as a daily drinker but it was clearly a well made beer. Wouldn’t expect anytingbut from SN.

9/1/2010 6:20:18 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by Jabah from Winter Park, FL, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
I like SN's Fresh and Wet Hops Ales a little better than this, but for the style is a decent brew. Is a little pricey though. Flavors of wheat, some light caramel malt, floral hop finish. Light golden appearance. Worth the try, but that is about it.
8/28/2010 2:00:04 AM |
0
0 
#5 Review by Phishpond417 from Oregon, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 6 |
Can't remember where I had this on tap, but from the writing and paper, it looks like it may have been the Malt House. Pourso a bright golden orangish tint. Small white head. Aroma is semi sweet, some soft carmel notes. Light fruit and pleasent malty finish.
8/23/2010 7:15:52 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by beerguy101 from Newark, CA, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Sampled on 6/25/2010. This helles bock pours a light orange gold color from a 25oz corked and caged bottle. Medium sized white foamy head. The aroma is caramel, fruity and sweet with a touch of earthiness. A medium bodied helles bock. The malts are caramel, fruity and sweet. The hops are earthy. Nice carbonation. Sweet, but not cloying. Very smooth tasting. Hides the alcohol well, there is just a touch of alcohol bite at the finish as it warms. Think this one will age very nicely. Mouthfeel is full and round. Finish is clean and smooth. Aftertaste is slightly sweet with a hint of alcohol.
7/17/2010 10:43:33 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by Beav from Fort Collins, CO, United States
Score: 2.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 4 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 4 |
750ml bottle. Pours a slightly hazy orange amber with a big creamy white head that retains well and laces the glass.

The aroma is pretty subdued - some toasted malt and some vegetables and nitro(?). Kind of smells like a bad cream ale.

The flavor is toasted malts with some a good amount of bitterness that is slightly metallic and some noticeable alcohol. The mouthfeel is medium bodied with a watery texture.

Overall, I did not care for this. It tastes like an imperial cream ale to me. It's watery, harshly bitter and alcoholic with very little redeeming about it. Not nearly as good as the Fritz and Ken.

7/12/2010 1:39:53 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!