Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#17 Review by Jabah from Winter Park, FL, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A strong ale with characteristics of an IPS. Similar to the 30th Anniversary Fritz and Ken's Stout. The maple and birch syrups make this sweeter than the average IPS, but can still taste the chocolate, coffee/toffee, caramel, and all the other goodies that go into this. Super-dark brown appearance with creamy mocha head. Near-perfect carbonation from the aging yeast. Wondering what aging this for a year or two would do? May look for another bottle to age a year, so I can open in late 2012 with my 2009 Stone Vertical Epic to compare the two.
1/12/2012 1:19:50 AM |
1
0 
#16 Review by kinger from North Canton, oHIo, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
This is what I expected their Ovila Dubbel to be like, let down by Ovila but satisfied by this Life & Limb 2 as listed on the bottle. Dark brown body with a medium sized, lasting head. Mixed berries, black licorice and a heavy Belgian yeast influence. A bit lighter bodied than anticipated, with a rounded out smoothness and very drinkable.
10/8/2011 7:52:13 PM |
1
0 
#15 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Comes out of the tap a luscious warm sable with a fairly thick and fine-bubbled light tan head that sticks around for a while. Malty aroma has strong molasses and caramel notes. Mouth-filling flavor has a malty core and caramel, nutty, molasses and earthy notes plus a hint of honey sweetness. Full-bodied texture is rather smooth and has a firm, fine tingle. Risk life and limb for this 'un! ;)
9/16/2011 3:20:14 PM |
0
0 
#14 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 7 |
A deep brown colored beer with a moderate sized, foamy textured tan head that rises brieflyabove. Not much hang time. But it does settle into a thck ringlet and splotches of film. A sharp alcohol punch. Burnt molasses and dark fruit in a light nose and a more dominate tasting. Full bodied, nearly syrupy. A nice drink overall.
8/28/2011 8:17:53 PM |
1
0 
#13 Review by zythum from union city, CA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
sampled on 11/13/09. 24oz bottle with mitch. pours a dark brown color. thin head. aroma is sweet, caramel, hops. taste is caramel, a little dark fruit and woody, a little hoppiness in the back. maple and brown sugar coming out as it warms. body is medium. aftertaste is a little sweet.
12/30/2010 3:58:01 AM |
1
0 
#12 Review by Clash from Chattanooga, TN, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
This beer poured a dark brown color with a reddish beige head. The aroma contains some whiskey, toffee, and caramel. A definite alcohol presence is there. The flavor is similar to the aroma with chocolate, whiskey, and coffee. Overall a little overpowering but nice all the same!
12/12/2010 8:28:08 AM |
1
0 
#11 Review by doulos31 from Middletown, DE, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Dec. 2009 - Very unique and worth a try, for sure. Thanks to eaglefan538 for sharing this with me on our Eagle Gameday beerfest. Sweet with chocolate, caramel and bread...and birch (which I never would have been able to identify if it weren’t on the bottle)....but not overly sweet. I was digging it, especially since I didn’t have to shell out the $20 for a bottle (wow).
11/27/2010 10:03:44 AM |
1
0 
#10 Review by thomassova4 from Roanoke, VA, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
I really enjoyed this beer. It was BIG and full. It was a very nice brown ale and an excellent collaborative effort with Sierra Nevada. I would buy this beer again and look forward to trying the sister beer, "Limb & Life."
7/19/2010 9:51:56 AM |
1
0 
#9 Review by pfoxyjohn from Watertown, WI, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
On tap, quite fresh and raw. Beautiful pour - a rich deep opaque chocolate brown with a thick melted-ice cream head. Wooden and maple-syrup sweet but pleasantly balanced by a dry bitter finish. Is this the best of both worlds or the least of both worlds? Can the the whole be less than the sum of its parts? For me a collaboration that doesn't quite work. An interesting effort and an alright dessert beer but just not inspirational.
5/27/2010 3:09:38 PM |
1
0 
#8 Review by popery from San Franciso, CA, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 6 | Overall 5 |
Tap @ SF L&L Release dinner and @ City Beer Store. A rather disappointing mess of a strong ale. Life & Limb certainly isn’t awful, but it doesn’t live up to the hype surrounding this collaboration of two high profile craft brewers. It pours a dark brown, opaque, with little head. Light aroma of birch, citric hops and nutty malt, which sounds pretty good but it’s already obvious that the beer is too sweet for my taste. The flavor is sweet with syrup and malt with a bit of a hop bite. Unfortunately, nothing seems to mesh. The flavors aren’t terribly pleasant on their own and don’t really work together well. Feel is thick. Had to try it twice to confirm.
3/10/2010 11:09:50 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!