Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#12 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
355ml bottle from LCBO. Pours an average size but very thick and frothy tan head and has a deep dark brown appearance. Bubbly and patchy lacing. Moderate carbonation. Aromas of dark roasted malt, coffee and chocolatey notes, hints of maple. Flavour a are sweet straight away followed by some coffee and chocolate notes, the maple is noticeable as well as some rye in the finish, giving it the barrel aged aspect. Has a little bit of a woodsy finish also, and is a little bit boozy but not offensive in the least. Somewhat of a syrupy mouthfeel, nice and warming as well. Slightly oily sensation on the palate. Goes down smoothly, making it a bit dangerous in the long run. Very good!
6/12/2019 12:23:27 PM |
3
0 
#11 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Pours a real dark brown, kind of black colour with a big frothy-creamy mocha-coloured head, great lasting with some thick creamy lacing. Big aromas of roasted malts, chocolate, mild coffee, dark fruits and sweetness from the maple syrup. The taste starts off on the coffee side taking over the dark malts. The maple is not too sweet here to kill the fun. Wow! These Founders Imperial Stouts are so delicious. Worth the stiff price.
5/9/2019 7:57:48 PM |
6
0 
#10 Review by cyrenaica from Milton, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
355ml bottle
11.6% ABV
Bottled On: September 24, 2018
LCBO #010 (Toronto, Ontario, Canada – Summerhill)
December 24, 2018
$8.50
The beer pours a solid black colour, similar to pouring motor oil. The head is a minimal brown film on the top. The aroma is quite complex with notes of bourbon, wood, maple, and coffee. The mouthfeel is full bodied with good carbonation. The flavour is bourbon soaked wood, some alcohol hints (quite warming as it goes down), dark coffee, vanilla, and chocolate. You can smell the maple, but you don’t really taste it. I am concerned that one of the ingredients in this beer is potassium sorbate!

12/25/2018 12:21:22 AM |
4
0 
#9 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours out 100% black with a lingering thick tan head. The aroma is not very pronounced but diffinitly smells of chocolate and maple.The mouthfeel is extremely thick. The taste is rich and if it was just a tad more sweet it would be to much. It's a really interesting fushion of maple and bourbon. I paid $30 for a bomber and think it was worth the price. This would really be interesting to mix 50% of this beer with a original founders imperial stout. Which in my opinion is the best beer they have ever brood.
11/9/2018 8:37:26 PM |
2
0 
#8 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Pours opaque coffee brown with a nice tan head. Rich aroma has firm notes of bourbon, coffee, molasses and toast malt plus a hint of chocolate. Flavor floods the palate with quality coffee, bourbon, chocolate, molasses, roast malt and oak. Mouthfeel is quite fizzy and firm, leaving a bourbon and chocolaty finish. Oh Canada, my home and native land!
3/15/2016 6:16:24 PM |
1
0 
#7 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
What? CBS in Tennessee? The hell you say. Good Lord. Black pour, ultra tight tan head and cap leaving copious lacing throughout. Enticing aromas and flavors of maple, dark chocolates, near-burnt malts, molasses, hint of coffee. This SOB was on my wish list for a very long time, eh.
6/11/2015 12:33:18 PM |
1
0 
#6 Review by ggrumet from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A victim of the hype machine - but still an upper echelon beer. Midnight black pour with a deep brown head. Thick viscosity with aromas of stale coffee and bourbon. Mouthfeel is creamy and thick but the ABV and taste make this one a slow sipper. Flavors from this aged bottle are dominated by milk chocolate, oats, and iced coffee but are backed up nicely with vanilla and oak from the barrel. I notice very little maple sweetness. When I had this fresh the bourbon and maple sweetness were the main flavor component but with 14 months the maple is gone. This is phenomenal, but KBS is my preferred barreled stout from Founders.
1/16/2013 9:25:57 PM |
1
0 
#5 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A victim or beneficiary of the hype machine? Thanks to Thomassova for this gem that was eagerly shared. I am unapologetically a fan Of coffee stouts. Same for barreled stouts. Kbs is a favorite as is founders, so I went into this with very high expectations. It was in many ways more similar to kbs than I thought it would be. The coffee was still by far the main player, with the bourbon and maple playing backup quite nicely. The alcohol doesn't show much. The main difference between the two is maaaaybe a slightly heftier feel to the CBS, but definitely splitting hairs. Deeelicious in every way. Less maple than better half, but this is also a bigger beer. I need to find out what coffee they use. Great brew!!
5/21/2012 11:28:20 PM |
1
0 
#4 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Handbottle from Matt, sample from 22oz from Bill, and 2 more samples from other tastings .. . deep brown black .. medium foam .. . aroma of maple, sweet tar, and maple infused chocolate syrup .. . taste isn't as good as the nose, but still very nice .. . overall: a good brew but no where as good as the insanity that surrounds it .. . .
How many fingers am I holding up in front of your eyes right now? .. 3 .. .. That's good. That's pretty good, considering that he's blind.

3/10/2012 11:20:49 AM |
0
0 
#3 Review by thomassova4 from Roanoke, VA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A HUGE thanks to the Wine Gourmet in Roanoke, VA for holding me two bottles of this fantastic beer! This beer was wonderful - the smell was insane (Vanilla, coffee, bourbon, oak, maple) and the flavor closely tracked the aroma. As great as this beer was though, I still prefer the original FBS. This beer was almost too busy - but I nitpick. I'd buy it again in a second. Thanks to Chris Perzan for sharing this with me the evening after Thanksgiving 2011 for our annual "Night After Thanksgiving" get together. Slowrunner77 - the second bottle is yours and will be coming your way once I finish piecing together your box o' goods!
12/13/2011 10:07:53 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!