Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

#10 Review by zythum from union city, CA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
sampled on 6/26/09. 22oz bottle with mitch. pours a deep copper color, thin head. aroma is pine/citrus. taste is piney, citrus, malty sweet, caramel. nice carbonation. hint of alcohol in the finish that i probably wouldnt notice if i werent analyzing this beer. body is medium/full.
10/1/2011 7:23:58 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by Clash from Chattanooga, TN, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
I scream underrated! Odd for Port Brewing. Anyways......A cloudy orange appearance with a white head. The aroma contains alot of pine as well as oranges and lemons. The flavor is like an orangesicle (remember those?) I loved em. Some pine and lemons in there as well. This is perfectly balanced. Overall a kick ass IIPA!
12/12/2010 5:51:26 AM |
0
0 
#8 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
a well tuned iipa. lots of grapefruity hops with just enough malt (and yeast coating on the bottom) to provide a touch of balance, but definitely a hopheads brew. no idea of the age, but it was good.
10/15/2010 10:51:55 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by regspeir from Havertown, PA, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 5 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
22 oz. bottle into a tulip. Poured a golden orange with almost no head - just some white foam near the edge. Nose is piney hops and some citrus (orange, grapefruit, lemon). Taste is lemon, orange and grapefruit, some pine and some alcohol warming. Mouthfeel is medium and oily/syrupy. Carbonation is good and the hops resins are very noticeable. The abv. is well-hidden; No clue of its 10%. While this is a little too sticky/oily and sweet for my tastes, it's definitely a good effort and very reasonably priced. Try it.
6/30/2010 5:40:50 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
damn you neuralizer! ...man, this was a nice mellow brew, better than 2 by a mile! ... I drank some boiling water ’cause I wanted to whistle... hey tomme, suck it!
1/6/2010 5:59:26 PM |
0
0 
#5 Review by Phil B from Gatineau, Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle: Poured a cloudy amber color ale with a large foamy head with good retention and some lacing. Aroma of sweet caramel malt with bitter hoppy notes. Taste is dominated by hoppy bitter notes with lots of sweet caramel malt- I would have enjoyed this one a lot more if more floral hops would have been used. Body is quite full with limited filtration and good carbonation with no signs of the alcohol. Not bad thought a bit too one-dimensional for my taste.
10/25/2009 10:48:56 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by Sap from Tucson, AZ, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
A solid pour into my 25cl tulip glass produces a two-finger thick, light tan colored head. The beer has a red amber hue that shows a lightly amber tinged, full copper color. The aroma smells a bit sweet, reminds me of candied American hops, sweet tangerine, tart apricot, week green vegetables, a touch of green pine character, green / unripe fruit notes and meyer lemon. The aroma is actually a bit weaker than I was expecting, this did follow a Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’, but that shouldn’t have been any problems for this beer.

Soft and creamy feeling, the texture is likely helped by the fact that this is only lightly chilled. The beer finishes with a bitting hop bitterness that helps to cut through the thick, viscous texture. A touch of alcohol heat couples with the bitterness to provide a sharp finish. The hop character in the flavor of this beer is quite a bit more noticeable than it was in the nose; candied ruby-red grapefruit zest, lychee, a nice tropical fruit note (which becomes more accentuated as the beer warms up) and a citrus oil component. Sharper hop notes of menthol, bitter herbs, pine, and a definite green hoppiness really tend to linger in the finish, with an astringency that couples with the hop bitterness. After a bit of time the beer can get a a bit green and herbal, a bit too raw even.

This is a bit thicker than I like in my Double IPAs, to me this is a bit more like a hoppy Barleywine. Not bad, but I was hoping for something a bit more quaffable. Hmm, I can’t help but be a little disappointed, I always expect stellar from this brewery, which might be a bit unfair.

Purchased: Plaza Liquors, Tucson AZ

7/15/2009 12:25:37 AM |
0
0 
#3 Review by beerguy101 from Newark, CA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Sampled on 6/29/2009. This Imperial IPA pours a deep orange gold color from a 22oz bottle. Small to medium sized white foamy head. The aroma is piney and citrusy hop with a touch of orange. A medium bodied Imperial IPA. The malts are caramel and sweet, with a touch of fruitiness. The hops are citrusy and piney. The big juicy hops are balanced nicely by the sweet and fruity malts. Good carbonation. Hides the alcohol very well. There is a touch of alcohol bite at the finish. Mouthfeel is full and round. Finish is clean and smooth. Aftertaste is slightly bitter.
7/3/2009 1:00:45 AM |
0
0 
#2 Review by changeup45 from Orlando, Florida, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle from Julio’s. A beer I’ve wanted to try but it ended up being a little disappointing. Pours amber-orange with a nice off-white head that settles down to a patchy layer and leaves spotty lacing. Aroma shows grapefruit, orange peel and caramel malt and after it breathes for a minute I pick up some alcohol fumes. Flavor has a lot of malts, caramel, toffee, baked goods, spicy hops follow with resin, citrus flavor, and an alcohol sting in the finish. Overall the beer is sweet, sticky and a bit syrupy, not to the point of being too cloying but I’m not going to say the 10% hides well. Decent, I guess I just expected a little more.
6/19/2009 11:16:47 PM |
0
0 
#1 Review by Beav from Fort Collins, CO, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
22 oz bottle. Pours a murky tea color with a thin frothy white head that quickly goes to a thin collar.

The aroma is piney fruity resiny hops - a little on the subdued side.

The flavor is sweet caramel malts and tropical fruits followed by a big bitterness in the finish and aftertaste. There's a noticeable alcohol burn in the finish. The mouthfeel is medium bodied with low carbonation and is kind of watery.

Overall, other than the mouthfeel, this is a solid DIPA. It's well balanced between sweetness and bitterness.

6/15/2009 1:33:11 AM |
0
0 
 
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!