Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#69 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Very deep brown, almost black - typical good stout color - with a nice tan head. Aroma is rich and stouty with a strong overtone of burnt coffee. Flavor is rich and very pleasing, has a smoky overtone, hints of coffee and molasses. It feels thick the way a stout should, and is very smooth with minimal bitterness.
7/21/2014 7:03:19 PM |
0
0 
#68 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 2.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
This stout is closer to an imperial stout in the fact it's just a tad bitter. Poured pitch black with about half a inch brown head. No outstanding aroma I guess I would say it smells pretty plain. Taste is okay but also a little plain
2/4/2014 5:21:27 PM |
0
0 
#67 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
pours a reddish black color with a nice big tan head that lingers for a while with nice lacing. The aroma is of chocolate, roasted malts, maybe a touch of caramel. The taste is a little more bitterness then expected, with roasted up front, creamy middle, chocolate at the finish. The mouthfeel is a touch too carbonated and medium bodied.
8/27/2012 12:03:35 PM |
0
0 
#66 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Purchased on my trip to Vegas at the Total Wine store. Pours a real dark brown that lets only a bit of red highlights. Big light beige head that is creamy, foamy, has great retention and patchy lacing. Cacao aromas with some light burnt malts. Smooth silky mouthfeel, medium-bodied. Taste of roasted malts with hints of coffee, molasses and dark chocolate in the aftertaste. An overall pretty good easy-going stout with the chocolate not being predominate.
11/17/2011 3:04:21 AM |
0
0 
#65 Review by AleFan from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
I give this a high 7. It was definitely a dry stout. Great flavor and uch anice roll off in the finish. I was pleaszently surprised by SE. Being that most brews from here tend to have that hoppy base. I will admit that SE is my regular brew. I am captivated by the genieous that is SE. I will drink this again and again.
1/17/2011 2:41:22 PM |
0
0 
#64 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
On tap @ Bearden Beer Market. Rich black pour with a tight tan head and good lacing. Toasted almost burnt malt aroma with very slight brown sugar, good amount of hops, slight coffee. Taste is nice and toasty with a moderate amount of bitterness which balances the near-brown sugar and very slight caramel flavors. Nice long light bitter linger. Very nice stout indeed.
1/5/2011 2:22:42 PM |
0
0 
#63 Review by shrews824 from Leitchfield, KY, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Very dark brown. Opaque. Small amount of ruby/red hues around the edges. Tan colored head. Suitable head, retention and lacing, but not as much much as I was prepared for. Roasted coffee mixed with a pleasurable chocolate note. Fair amount of smokiness. Touch of alcohol coming through on the nose also. Taste was a roasted, smokey flavor of ground coffee and "dark" chocolate. The chocolate brings about some sweetness. Mildly bittetr. Wee bit resiny, but in a good way. Medium to full mouthfeel that does an outstanding job of hanging around on the palate. Smooth and dry. Light alcohol warmth at the end. Mostly creamy, but not overdone. Pretty good American Stout. I like the bit of warmth. This beer is well above average. This would be nice during the cold Winter months of course. I wouldn't have a bit of trouble trying this one again...... and again. Sierra Nevada just knows how to brew a solid product.
11/18/2010 1:58:34 PM |
0
0 
#62 Review by fargingbastige6 from Birmingham, AL, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours the requisite stout dark, dark brown to black with a moderate tan head. Aroma of roasted malt and coffee as one would expect, but nothing out of the ordinary. Thin - much thinner than I would expect from a stout on the pallette. Smooth throughout with a pleasantly unexpected hoppiness in the end.
11/9/2010 4:58:36 PM |
0
0 
#61 Review by funk from Moorhead, MN, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Nothing really stands out here except for a ton of roasted malt in the aroma. Pour is very dark with a nice tan head. Some dark chocolate and bitter notes along with the roasted malt in the taste. Pretty standard stout in my opinion.
8/20/2010 2:58:19 PM |
0
0 
#60 Review by Jne5HusG from Unterleinleiter, Germany
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
350 ml bottle. Poured a really black colored ale with a three fingers beige creamy foamy head, with tons of micro bubbles, that hat a superb retention. Active carbonation. Great lacing. The flavour is heavy roasted malts, fruity, strawberries (!), notes of sourness. The aroma is deep roasted malts, dark bitter chocolate, burned coffee beans, a deep floral hoppy bitterness, a point of acidity. The mouthfeel is slight creamy and very smooth. This medium bodied ale has a lingering roasty and hoppy bitter finish. A very enjoyable Stout.
6/19/2010 4:44:02 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!