Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#96 Review by jerryoung from Sedalia, MO, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
This dogfish head brown ale is a dark color with a red tint. Tons of caramel and malt on the nose. Thin, foamy head. Excellent lacing. As I drank it and it warmed the caramel, malts and sweetness came out. There was still the hops too. A nice medium mouthfeel. Overall a solid beer, one of my favorite brown ales.
6/5/2014 7:07:48 AM |
0
0 
#95 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 7 | Overall 6 |
Dark ruby with brown foam head. Aroma is strong caramel. Taste is caramelized sugar, little bitter, little yeast. Normal low bittersweet aftertaste. Went well with the German Bratwurst I ordered at The Ginger Man BAr (Houston 201208)
8/27/2012 1:13:35 PM |
0
0 
#94 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Poured a brown color with a slight reddish tint.Large bubbly head that lasted a while and left sporatdic lacing.Roasted malt,burnt coffee and dark chocolate aroma.Flavor follows the aroma.Looking for the mouthfeel to match the aroma and flavor but it didn’t.Tastey beer but for the abv I expected a little more.
1/13/2012 9:03:06 AM |
0
0 
#93 Review by Flashpro from Media, PA, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
This beer pours a very dark red-brown with decent head and lacing. The particular bottle I'm drinking now has been siting around for over a year from a six pack I got. Aroma is the best part of this beer. It's a heavy with malt, roasty and sweet, but with a killer cocoa thing going on. Body actually seems a little thinner than you would expect, but seems to improve as it warms. Not very hoppy, but since this bottle has been sitting around a while it may have weakened. Definitely a brown ale to try.
5/27/2011 11:18:22 PM |
0
0 
#92 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
I've been reading my own reviews, and I will sometimes put 9's or 6's or whatever across the board, and then change the overall number to something higher or lower. I did so with this beer. Its a 9 in every category, but at the end of the day, I would not buy this beer over and over again. The chcolaty malts are fantastic, complex, with great depth of flavour. Definately a taste of high quality brown sugar. Super smooth, without being sweet or bitter. Just as I am more and more coming to prefer. I love sugar tastes, like that on the Trappites Rochefort 8, when it seems savoury and thick without being syrupy or desserty. This beer does that. Perhaps a faint sour note to complement the taste, which I gather would come from the particular yeast on this beer, that said there is not discernable yeasty flavours. Fills and coats the whole tounge, and is welcome there, nothing is stimulated uncomfortably, while nothing is left out. Just to keep it the review consistently unorganized, I want to return to the chocolate notes. It is not milk/white/dark chocolate in any conventional sense. It is a decidedly beer/malt chocolate, with added complexity, similair to taking a tiny 90% cocoa choclate piece, letting it melt under your tounge, while eating a heavy, saltless and falvourless, fresh baked bread. YUMMMMM. Buy, enjoy, drink again.
1/28/2011 6:15:35 PM |
0
0 
#91 Review by shrews824 from Leitchfield, KY, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Very dark brown color with raspberry and ruby highlights. Gorgeous off white/tan colored head that was very frothy and creamy. The head stuck around for several minutes and had very nice lacing to go along with it. Looks great. Very aromatic toffee and caramel. Getting both chocolate and brown sugar hints. Almost like chocolate milk. Vague hints of coffee also. No real nuttiness to speak of, but no problem with me there. This beer smells wonderful. This brew has a toffee/caramel/chocolate type of flavor followed by the bits of coffee. Some alcohol warmth comes forth, but in a stifled kind of way and it makes me want another sip. Medium/full mouthfeel. Creamy goodness. Smooth. Dry. Coats the palate very well. Really well. This beer is super easy to drink at 7.2% ABV. Really smooth and dry. This is a great beer. One of the best I've had. Perfect for cool evenings and worth a try if available. I, most certainly, will pick this up again.
12/26/2010 10:32:35 AM |
0
0 
#90 Review by mmmmBeer from Edmonton, Canada
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Dark brown body with nice looking cap, looks like a beer to me. Malty chocolate hop yum yum aroma, some chalkiness and burnt sugar. Burnt malty hoppy yum flavor with hints of banana. Sweet brown sugar, bitter coffee, and soapy hops all show in the finish. Dogfish does it again with consistently awesome beers excellent brown ale, high quality stuff.
12/13/2010 2:48:53 PM |
0
0 
#89 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
I didn't notice anything with this beer that makes it any different from a lot of other brown ales aside from the fact it was priced slightly higher. A murky reddish-brown pour with a thin brown cap. Caramel malt and roses were the aromatic assaulters. The flavour was sweet malt, grain, and hops.
11/26/2010 2:02:12 PM |
0
0 
#88 Review by pootz from between Calgary and Waterloo, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Sample at Mondial: Deep brown color with a smallish sandy cap, soft carbonation. Aroma is very malty, burnt toffee, roasty, cocoa, fruits,leafy kent hops and earthy nuttiness. Medium body, rich creamy mouth feel. Flavour is almost like it smells, big chewy toffee-roasty malts in front, lightly sweet, balanced with resinous hopping, midway we get fruitiness and nutty-tobacco tastes then a long roasty lightly bitter finish. Well executed mutation of the 3 styles.
6/30/2010 8:31:49 PM |
0
0 
#87 Review by jkbpill from Birmingham, AL, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Not a fan of mixed beers but this one is a cut above the rest like most from DFH. It pours a reddish brown, with an off white head. the aroma is very sweet and malty. From the first sip it tastes like any scotch type of ale but it finishes like a india pale ale. This beer really does justice to what may become a new type the india brown ale, but I have to say it is the only one of this type I have enjoyed so far.
5/22/2010 10:06:39 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!