Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#53 Review by Clash from Chattanooga, TN, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
A dark brown with a beige head. Aroma contains some smokey notes with chocolate and coffee notes. A bit of nutmeg also. The flavor is sweet and rich with caramel, nutmeg, and chocolate. A burnt wood thing going on. Overall excellent beer.
2/9/2019 2:00:08 AM |
3
0 
#52 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
You want a mouth of malt that is black a hell this is the beer for you. The 12 Abv is not not noticeable except for the buzz. There is no evidence in the taste which is full and chewy. There is zero head no matter how fast you pour it.
1/31/2014 7:21:25 PM |
0
0 
#51 Review by ichorm from Cascadia, Canada
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Malty as hell. It's thick and dark, really complex. Malt beverage, my butt. This is barley port. Mildly bitter, a touch sour, a pleasant vanilla, and the wood aging is great. Aroma reminds me a lot of a dry stout. I will say, I quite like the taste, and the mouthfeel is great, but the finish is a disappointment. Lingering lameness.
11/12/2012 2:16:32 AM |
0
0 
#50 Review by Qatfish from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Color of black coffee, served without a head. Sour coffee and vanilla aroma, tart and sweet, is repeated in the flavor: sweet and sour coffee with charred wood and alcohol mellowed by vanilla. Wish there had been more to it.
10/14/2012 2:25:51 AM |
0
0 
#49 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 2.3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 2 | Overall 3 |
Poured a deep, dark brown with a very small dark brown head, quickly fading to a film and a thin but nice ringed collar. The aroma is of wood, sweet carmel, sweet vanilla, dark cherry, dark roasted plumb. The taste follows the aroma but is quite sweet and syrupy. The mouthfeel is heavy body and low carbonation with a dry wood finish. This beer is awful, I had to pour out the rest.
5/21/2012 8:33:53 PM |
0
0 
#48 Review by beerdog from Cloverdale, BC, Canada
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
2010 edition from Brewery Creek; 12 oz bottle. Head was medium brown and quite foamy; left a nice ring. Body seriously dark brown. Powerful aroma with alcohol and malt. Sure this isn't a barleywine? Flavcour was fabulous, again with the alcohol and malt, as well as hints of coffee and dark chocolate, plus something "extra"...maybe the Palo Santo? Mouthfeel was just lovely, being rich and smooth. Not overly sweet at the finish. Now I've got wood, too.
3/15/2012 4:44:53 PM |
0
0 
#47 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Had two pints of this last march sitting on “The Porch” in Key West.Great time,great beer.Made me miss the sunset.Now in not such a glorious location I can review the bottle in front of me.Looks good in the glass.Very dark brown with a nice tan head which dissipates after a while.Aroma of black cherries and wood.Tastes sweet,very fruity with a hint of burnt coffee(yum).Mouthfeel,thick and slick.One of the best.Love the alcohol burn too.Still a great beer.
1/17/2012 9:45:36 AM |
0
0 
#46 Review by dogfoodman from Redwood Valley, CA, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 4 | Overall 5 |
Dogfish Head, wonderful brand, wonderful brewery, but this brew is just not there. Good body and aroma, but the general flavor while complex, just seemed to clash and messed up the overall enjoy of this beverage.
12/17/2011 9:20:38 PM |
0
0 
#45 Review by iabeerguy from Mount Vernon, IA, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
This beer pours a brown color with a small tan head. Lacing sticks to my glass. Smell of wood, caramel, and vanilla. Sweet brown sugar taste throughout the beer. Very smooth and easy drinking, the 12% ABV can sneak up on you.
2/23/2011 8:30:25 PM |
0
0 
#44 Review by slayer02348 from East Lansing, MI, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Wow. This one blew me away. Dark brown with a tan head. Aroma of molasses and malt. Flavor is the same, maybe some fruit present? ALOT going on here taste wise. Great balance, great finish. Not at all what I would have expected.
1/30/2011 1:29:36 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!