Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#20 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours hazy honey golden-brown with a very thick golden-buff head. Malty aroma has a definite note of ginger. Flavor has ginger, honey and malty tones plus more than a hint of hops. Texture has good body and some fizz, and leaves a ginger and honey finish. Go for the spice!
7/20/2016 5:34:08 PM |
0
0 
#19 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 2.3 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
Clear orange, no foam. Spicy aroma, ginger indeed. Taste of pepper, some jalepino, ginger again. Lasting ginger aftertaste. Did not particular like this beer. (Houston 201408)
8/30/2014 5:51:10 AM |
0
0 
#18 Review by jerrymorrison from Angleton, TX, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 6 |
Pours a murky honey orange with a foamy beige head that settles to a partial film on top of the beer. Small dots of lace form around the glass on the drink down. Smell is of malt, grain, and grapefruit hop aromas. Taste is much the same with malt and subdued hop flavors a very mild amount of spice bitterness. Overall kinda like an IPA, the ginger dosent come though, so thats a bit disappointing
10/11/2013 4:25:28 PM |
0
0 
#17 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 7 | Overall 6 |
from notes: Smells great, fresh cut ginger and other spices. subtle hops. Flavor nice as well, but the way too overcarbonated feel takes a touch off the flavor as well. Too bad, this would have been good. Maybe infected, who knows, but at $7, I likely won't be trying again.
3/28/2013 1:44:03 PM |
0
0 
#16 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
pours a very hazy burnt orange with small tan head which dissipated to an average to a thin cover with some random lacing down the glass. The aroma is of ginger and brown sugar, light molasses and pepper. The taste is of ginger but is more subdued than the aroma but pleasant and well integrated, molasses and bread maltiness, just a touch of leafy hops The mouthfeel is medium body and slightly creamy, a subtle ginger spice tingle lasts through the finish which also bready.
8/5/2012 7:59:43 PM |
0
0 
#15 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Recent obsession with japanese brew, lets see how this one turns out... puchased at belmont station portland. Obvious ginger, really enjoy though, its a fresh, lively, lemongrass ginger, well complemented by some dry fresh hops. This is what I like in a summer beer, not complicated, simple, fresh tasting, refreshing. Not as soda pop as some summer beers, but fairly similair in its sweetness. Medium to big bodied, smooth in the mouth, malts are there more in feel than taste, which suits this beer. Something faintly like thai sticky rice--infused with banana leaf, or maybe thats just something I want to eat with this, or both. Cloudy crimson colour. Seemed like all I could do to get head out of it when I poured, but now it seems quite effervescent and carbonated. I am really sold on this beer, it is simple but well put together, particularly the malt profile, not to full to be bloating and hard to drink, not to thin for there beer to taste like ginger syrup. Nice.
10/26/2011 10:03:54 PM |
0
0 
#14 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Limited time ginger brew at the LCBO. Pours a cloudy amber-caramel colour with a big creamy tanned head that stays a long while, creating good thick lacing. The ginger is definitely present in the smell, with some rusty hop and hints of other spices, like cinnamon. Cinnamon is what I taste as well, more than the ginger. Watery generic mouthfeel with just a little stickiness in the finish. Some of the hop shows up in the flavour as well. Was expecting a blond Japanese brew, but was quite pleased with the look of this brew. Says "Please enjoy the balance of the ginger flavor and the taste of malt" on the back label... ha, ha, I will. Thanks for being polite. Please enjoy my review.
1/23/2011 6:34:20 PM |
0
0 
#13 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 2.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 4 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 4 | Overall 4 |
Three Hitachino beers have hit the Canadian marketplace recently, this being the worst of the three. They didn't need to put the word 'ginger' in the name.....it's all you can smell and taste. It pours a dark brown, it's clear, and pretty much headless. All I can smell is gingerbread. I'm sure there's malt and hops....but I can't detect them. Flavour is the same. Ginger and more ginger.
10/11/2010 6:40:12 PM |
0
0 
#12 Review by cyrenaica from Milton, Ontario, Canada
Score: 2.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
330ml bottle
7.0% ABV
Milton LCBO Outlet #1 (Milton, Ontario, Canada)
July 19, 2010
The beer poured a translucent copper with a golden-tan head that did not last. The aroma was sweet malt, caramel, floral hops and ginger. The mouthfeel was medium bodied with medium to high carbonation. The flavour was sweet malt, caramel and ginger. Too sweet for me.

7/20/2010 8:44:03 AM |
1
0 
#11 Review by Phil B from Gatineau, Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle: Poured a deep brown color ale with a medium size foamy head with good retention and some lacing. Aroma consists of deep caramel malt and toffee with some very subtle ginger notes. Taste is also dominated by caramel malt with sweet toffee notes while ginger is hidden quite well in this whole mix. Body is full with limited filtration and some average carbonation. Not bad overall but I was expecting a beer more focus toward ginger then strong caramel malt.
7/19/2010 2:21:55 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!