Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

#10 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 2.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 5 |
The bartender sold this beer to me with a lot of great traits. I did not see any of these traits in the beer I was given. It was a cloudy gold beer with a frothy white head. The aroma was grass, with little else to hide that. The grainy malty taste actually got to me after a couple of mouthfuls. Waste of good $$ here.
2/16/2009 6:17:08 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by Vac from San Diego, California, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle at tasting at Chris Fischer’s (from Liars Club) house. Pours with a gold body topped by a medium thick head wtih a good amount of lacing. It’s slightly sour with a hint of apple and other fruits. Light bodied and dry.
7/11/2008 6:23:39 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by changeup45 from Orlando, Florida, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Golden colored and pours a huge white fluffy head with good retention. The aroma is malty, with some grass and herbal notes with just a touch of citrus. The flavor is a citrus tang; I get orange, coriander and lemons along with wheaty malts. Acidic with quite a bit of carbonation. Seemed a bit thin and over-carbonated. Interesting, refreshing beer, and overall pretty good but nothing special.
6/8/2008 4:35:57 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by Phil B from Gatineau, Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Bottle courtesy of Bu11zeye: Poured a hazy light yellow color ale with a big foamy head with good retention and some lacing. Aroma of coriander and wheat is refreshing. Taste is a mix between some coriander, orange peel and a potent wheat malt profile. This beer has load of carbonation with almost a spritzer-like feel to it and a full body with minimal filtration. Very refreshing beer overall but a more accentuated spice profile with bigger malt would have been awesome.
4/11/2008 1:50:14 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by oh6gdx from Vaasa, Finland
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Bottled. hazy yellowish orange colour with big white head. Aroma is acidic citrus, wheat and some sweeter notes from caramel and malts, some slightly fudgeish notes too. Flavour is acidic fruits, wheat, nectary notes (or sweetish fruity notes). Also quite much spices and herbs are coming through. Decent witbier, but not very "creative". Not as exciting and experimental as many other Struise beers I've had.
1/26/2008 11:53:15 AM |
0
0 
#5 Review by Sap from Tucson, AZ, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Very well carbonated, the beer pours with a frothy, easily four-finger thick, light tan colored head (the head is actually darker than one would expect in a typical Wit). Without the sediment the beer is an almost clear, full gold color. The aroma is lemon like up front, but has a grain-derived grassiness, a touch of bright coriander and a touch of crushed malt aromatics mixed in. Mostly the lemon-like citrus character is noticeable.

The beer is quite dry up front and it immediately foams up as it hits my tongue. The combination of the light body and ample carbonation almost make this beer seem airy. Tart, with notes of lemon zest being prominent throughout the flavor profile. A very soft spiciness (other than the citrus) is just barely perceptible; perhaps contributing notes of white pepper, Japanese pickled ginger, and a hint of earthy / grassy coriander, and something like stinging nettle that adds a touch of green / vegetal character around the edges. The light malt character also contributes a touch of hay or grass.

This is really the consummate summer refresher, it is so light and refreshing that I could almost see drinking this instead of water, which is a rare comment from me when talking about beer. This has very little palate impact, and I would guess that trying to pair this with any type of food would completely swamp the subtle flavors of this beer.

10/11/2007 10:47:20 AM |
0
0 
#4 Review by aracauna from Adairsville, GA, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
There’s something weird to this aroma, almost milky. Not sour milk, but the aroma of fresh milk and I have no idea (and this glass has never touched a dairy product, nor had I eaten a dairy product in the same 12 hour period). A bit of coriander, and the flavor is a lot of candied malt. Only the slightest hint of tartness or bitterness, and a very mild and pleasant brett funk in the finish.
9/1/2007 12:29:05 AM |
0
0 
#3 Review by eaglefan538 from DE, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Botte, pour resulted in a generous head in a normally non-conducive to head generation glass. The color was pale golden, some murkiness to it. Lacing decent. The aroma was citrus, phenolic spices, light coriander. The flavor was mostly citrus, somewhat "watered" down flavors by the citrus elements, gently sour (but not my cup of tea when grabbing a wit from the fridge). Phenolic yeast products most significant among the spices, also coriander and probably other added spices I could not identify. Wheaty touch in the finish after it warmed. Mouthfeel was quite light, would have enjoyed more malt in the base flavors, although after a 23mi evening bike ride this was a refreshing finish (just not worth import prices).
8/28/2007 9:19:57 PM |
0
0 
#2 Review by Sigmund from Tau, Norway
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
33 cl bottle, courtesy of gunnfryd, who supplied it to our tasting. The ABV was 5.0%. Served at room temperature, which was too warm, and caused the beer to gush out of the bottle when opening. Hazy golden colour, moderate head. Surprisingly malty aroma, plenty of coriander. Moderately spicy flavour.
3/19/2007 2:45:15 PM |
0
0 
#1 Review by ante from Stockholm, Sweden
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Hazy light yellow, low white head. Fresh yeasty, orangey aroma with light banana notes. Fresh wheaty flavour, notes of sweet oranges. Lively carbonation. Sweet citric fruits in the finish.
5/25/2006 3:28:18 PM |
0
0 
 
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!