Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#189 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Pours a thin amount of head that doesn't really stay long. Has a cloudy dark coppery/brown appearance. Has yeasty and bready malt aromas. Alcohol is actually quite noticeable and very much in your face compared to other 9% beers. Very strong and bitter. Also some resin and dark fruits. Astringent sensation. Chalky and tingling mouthfeel. Not bad but strong alcohol and bitterness. Much preferred the white cap Chimay.
10/14/2013 5:07:46 PM |
1
0 
#188 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
pours a deep dark orangish red color with a medium sized head which lingers, just a little lacing observed. The aroma is of some sweet dark fruits and that typical belgian malt aroma. The taste is sweet dark fruit start it off but it finishes with a little warmth from the alcohol. The mouthfeel is medium body with a little carbonation and an almost creamy texture.
12/22/2012 1:38:58 PM |
1
0 
#187 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
This beer doesn't look great.Lots of aroma and flavour.Can understand why it's rated highly but top 25? Ripe banana and prunes. Too tart.Happy with one.
12/5/2012 10:17:33 PM |
1
0 
#186 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Sounds like a gunshot when you pop the cork (Don't aim at the dog). Pours a dark burnt orange that settles to a nice clowdy brown. Aroma is sweet with a strong hint of alcohol. Has a nice white head that dissapears fairly quickly. Taste is fairly bitter with a hint of bourbon. Slightly metallic at first but is not noticable after the first couple sips. Finishes off slightly dry. Overall an excellent beer that deserves the rank.
10/5/2012 10:43:31 PM |
1
0 
#185 Review by PaulCardom from Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
RateBeer tells me that this is one of the world's finest beers, and I have to agree. A solid dark brown pour with huge aroma and flavour...........baked bread, yeast, dark fruits, and dark malt. Made in the right combinations and you have a great beer!
9/15/2012 1:28:48 AM |
1
0 
#184 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 4 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Long Time ago I drank this, have to open the bottle I keep in the cellar. Taste it again. Nice beer, but doesn't distingues from ther Belgiuan beers. Bit ground taste (Velp 201201)
5/21/2012 2:33:18 PM |
1
0 
#183 Review by keal from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Very smooth, very safe, very tame. The most accessible brand of all authentic Trappist ales, and an easy brand to step into, as it doesn't have the funk that you'll find in the more adventurous ones like Rochefort and Westvleteren. Great taste, but safe. Recommend for those of you who are regular lager drinkers and are looking for a stepping stone into the world of funky Quadrupels. Compared to the tastier Quads like Rochefort, this one's the lowest common denominator. But it's quality, it's no sloucher!
5/20/2012 6:49:23 PM |
0
0 
#182 Review by ARTSBEST from NAPERVILLE, IL, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
I finally had my bottle of Chimay after waiting about 6 months. W/o a doubt the most tasteful/pleasant beer I've ever drank. Wife flies for one of our major airlines and is doing a Brussels route next month. She purchased the last batch at the local grocery store (1+ Euro) and will be doing the same in a more abundant fashion this time for yours truly. I can't wait.
4/28/2011 11:28:16 PM |
0
0 
#181 Review by MrHangover from Den Haag, Netherlands
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Had a bottle of Chimay Blue yesterday. Poured into original Chimay goblet it formed a decent off white head on top of a clear brown beer. My friend poured the yeast depot into his glass as well, made it a bit cloudy and it bit more bitter. Aroma is full with fruits. Plums, abricots, some apple, blackberries and blueberries. All with a nice hint of kandy sugar to add some sweetness. Flavour is full of differents sweets and bitters. You can definitely define the fruits, as well as the use of the kandy sugar. A really subtle, round and well balanced body made this a one of a kind brew. Enjoyed in the sun yesterday and it was great.
4/27/2011 5:41:12 AM |
0
0 
#180 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
I surprised myself here, thought I would have reviewed this years ago, but I thought I would read through my old review when drinking today, and there was none! Imagine my surprise! This is the Chimay I buy all the time. I think it is a bit to expensive here in BC ($3.99CAN) to drink everyday, but I Would! Great ripe fruit, plum, something woody that I think comes from the yeast, bit of brown sugar, some hot porridge sometimes, just a touch of dark roasted wheat. Apples! gently tart under ripe cooked red apples to be specific. Sometimes when I have this I swear I get a whiff of powdered cocoa, but not everytime and not in a whole beer, not getting it on this particular bottle. I got a 22cl aging in the cellar, wonder whats going to happen to it.
4/10/2011 12:45:09 AM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!