Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#31 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours clear mahogany with a thick and fairly persistent buff head. Aroma yields caramel, roast malt and fruity tones, pomme with a bit of dark fruit. Flavor delivers roast malt, caramel, woody hops, and a fruity underpinning of apple and dark fruit - and just a whisper of semi-sweet chocolate. Mouthfeel presents firm, smooth body and jazzy fizz. Doppel your dunkel, doppel your fun!
4/26/2019 11:14:35 PM |
1
0 
#30 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
pours a dark brown with a small off white head with spotty lacing. The aroma is very pleasant consisting of figs and other dark fruits, malts, caramel, brown sugar. The taste consists of dark fruits and sweet malts. There is a burnt chocolate/smokiness also. The mouthfeel is medium body and carbonation.
12/13/2014 3:28:01 PM |
1
0 
#29 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
A bold amber colored beer with a three fingered frothy textured, off white head rising above. A small ringlet is left shortly thereafter. Caramel malt, fruit profile dominate in the nose and tasting. Full bodied and slick.
3/19/2014 6:50:17 PM |
1
0 
#28 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Clear dark ruby with lasting brown foam head lacing to glass. Aroma is sweet caramel, same like taste. A bock beer available all year and a nice one too. Short bittersweet aftertaste. (Velp 201210)
10/6/2012 8:53:13 AM |
1
0 
#27 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
another one i've been wanting for a while .. flavours of chocolate banana, with a back of bark and fruit .. . very easy to put down, one second it was in front of me, the next, gone .. . great finish, and something i would definitely recommend .. . I didn't mean to upset the apple cart.
2/28/2011 3:17:15 PM |
1
0 
#26 Review by HeddyMuggz from Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Trying this one tonight with a bad cold...me, not the beer. I havent a clue about the aroma, but trust my friends on that score. My bottle is 'youngish' .. the best date is Aug 2011.. The pour is reddish amber, the head is full of bubbles and nothing else. it went away quickly. But I really like the flavor, even tho Im under the weather. the alcohol content seems so blanced, with a nice fire in the tummy, yet no fire in the mouth..only a rich smoky complexity that I love . I want to try it at the source, as pfoxy did. I am sure it would be wonderful. I recommend this one highly!
1/12/2011 3:03:59 PM |
1
0 
#25 Review by JCF14 from Lyon, France
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
it is a dark amber beer, with malt smoked strong grout, it has a good bitterness, it keeps its taste in the mouth longer. we feel the aromas of wood smoke and nuclei, it also boasts an alcoholic important.
10/3/2010 7:22:35 AM |
1
0 
#24 Review by Jne5HusG from Unterleinleiter, Germany
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
500 ml bottle. Poured a clear mahogany or ruby brown colored Bock with a threee fingers tan creamy foamy head that had a very long retention and tons of micro bubbles. Active carbonation. Good lacing. The aroma is strong roasted and caramel malts, dark riped fruits, berries, plums, dried fruits, raisins, nuts. The flavour is heavy roasted malts, toffee, coffee, molasses, dark riped fruits, raisins, vinous notes, spicy, licorice. The mouthfeel is although sweety yet very smooth and a bit syrupy. This full bodied Doppel Bock has a lingering fruity and slight bitter finish. A drink brewed by the monks for God or the humans ?
9/23/2010 1:54:03 PM |
1
0 
#23 Review by fargingbastige6 from Birmingham, AL, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
Not a bad dunkel as far as dunkels go, but there are better. Nice head, but really lacked complexity. The flavors were really muted and head slightly on the weak side.
3/24/2009 1:42:44 PM |
1
0 
#22 Review by pfoxyjohn from Watertown, WI, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Poured vom Faß at the Kloster Andechs Bräustüberl during a day trip from München. A rich copper brown color with a persistent, foamy tan head that left good lacing. Nose of roasted malt, earth and hay. Full, firm mouthfeel. Robust flavors of roasted malt, lightly sweet and fresh, but with a sour bitterness that evolves during the long, brilliant finish. Excellent.
11/2/2008 8:07:25 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!