Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#11 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Another decent beer that has long been recommended by friends of mine. A very hoppy beer for it' style in my opinion but I can live with that. It is orangy-brown in colour, certainly not pale. The aroma is hoppy with some caramel malt in the mix. The flavour is citrusy hops with some sweet malty tones. A good beer.
8/18/2008 1:51:46 AM |
0
0 
#10 Review by cyrenaica from Milton, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
473ml can
5.5% ABV
Milton LCBO Outlet #1 (Milton, Ontario, Canada)
April 3, 2008

Can says it was brewed by the Big Hole Brewing Company of La Crosse, Wisconsin (same brewer that is bringing in the Yankee Jim shit!). Surprise Surprise.....the website on the side of the can does not work although the picture matches what is here on the website.

The beer poured a beautiful translucent rusty red colour with a generous white fluffy head that quickly faded to islands on the top. The aroma is a combination of florally hops (subtle) and some caramel malt (strong). The mouthfeel is medium bodied with some good carbonation, not a lot (there is some slight effervescence in the glass). The flavour has some hints of malt, but has that wonderful grapefruit-tinged hoppy bitterness I like.

Maybe Big Hole Brewing knows how to brew a beer after all.

4/3/2008 2:41:16 PM |
1
0 
#9 Review by gaz from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
This is exactly the kind of beer i've been after here in Ontario. The bottle poured a copper colour with a thick foamy, slightly off white head. The head didn't last too long and left only thin but consistent lacing down the glass. I especially loved the floral arom, the complex malty taste and the bitterness that finishes each drink. This is definately one i will be restocking again in the future.
9/14/2006 10:30:29 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by mrmanning from London, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
On tap at the Alex P Keaton in London, Ontario. Head is thin, beige colour, and had a decent life. Some nice lacing present. Aromas are oranges, slight pine, lots of hops and some caramel malts. Taste is hoppy bitterness, orangey, and sweet malts. Very nice! Finish is very smooth and this has become my new session beer!
8/2/2006 11:35:54 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by beercronicshero from Edmonton, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
i must say i didnt have high hopes for this... dont know why. but after one bottle of this i can diffently say i like this alot... and its probably in my top 5 of pale ales. pours a lovely orange hue with a medium sized off white head... that vanished quickly. must say the aroma on this was nice roasty malts, floral undertones and a nice peachy/apricoty aroma. the taste of malts is apperant as is the slight hops in the background, again some nice floral taste. mouthfeel is a bit thin but all in all... this is damn good... diffently enjoy this.
7/31/2006 9:40:27 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by BigBry from Calgary, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
650ml bottle. The beer pours a dark amber color with a small white head. Left some thin, but continued lacing on my pint glass. There is a bit of hop smell mixed with malty sweetness. Also some aroma of toffee or brown sugar. This is a nice example with more malt flavor than hops coming through. Some biscuit malt flavors combined with, but not overpowered by, hoppyiness. It finishes with a bitter aftertaste.
7/23/2006 1:27:26 AM |
0
0 
#5 Review by biegaman from Toronto, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Both a respective and respectable beer, I was happy to try this beer. Its hops comply well with the underlying bitterness, all in all this is a well crafted EPA, if not among the better Ive tried. Far lighter than the American take, hops more restrained. Works against it in comparison but on the other hand makes for great drinkability. Definte floral aroma, estery note: hops still comes through well and clear though - just not as aggresive. Flavour is clean, water seems soft/minerally. Those grapefruity hops again! Beautiful sienna in colour, I enjoy the bottle as well! Swell beer in the English style. This is one pretty bitting ale.
12/5/2005 7:11:24 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by Skanadian from Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Pours a light amber colour with little off-white head. Aroma of some toasted malts with some slight sweetness. Somewhat thin mouthfeel with some little bubbles on the tongue, but a very nice taste that starts off with sweet malt and ends with some lovely hoppy bitterness. I noticed the alcohol a little bit, but enjoyed the beer.
8/10/2005 10:57:16 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by pootz from between Calgary and Waterloo, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
650 ml bomber from the Canadian contract brewer, Wellington. Lable had date of bottling as March 05...no best before info so I don't know if this is pasturized or not..probably sterile filtered as it poured a clear lovely copper-orange with an ample rocky tan cap. Good lacing. Moderate carbonation. Nose is filled with toasty sweet grain smells and light grassy aromas. Medium bodied, big, chewy, toasty sweet meris otter malts are kept in check by a very persistant cascade hopping which goes to a pleasant bittering in the finish with a touch of warming from the alcohol. A very well crafted APA...I think this is the tastiest ale that Wellington has ever made...hope they keep the contract.
5/20/2005 8:31:30 PM |
0
0 
#2 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Headstrong Pale Ale pours an amber-orange colour with a nice tanned head that is foamy and leaves great lacing as it dissipates slowly. The carbonation is very intense with tiny bubbles all over. Aroma of floral scents with caramel malt. The bitterness and the sweet malt are very well balanced. Both are long lasting. Beautiful creamy and smooth mouthfeel. This one is an awesome session brew. Strongly recommended.
5/7/2005 1:51:44 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!