Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#12 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Comes in a nice ceramic bottle with swing-top. Pours a thick fizzy head and goes away fairly quick. Just leaves a thin coat. Has a light burgundy colour, deep amber appearance. Weak lacing though. Pretty strong raspberry aroma, light roasted malts, wheats and spices. Nice bitter raspberry flavour, mild coffee, yeast, wheaty malts and very light chocolate hints. Slightly sour but not offensive and actually more sweet and tarty. Average carbonation. Warming sensation. Drying mouthfeel. Very nice presentation with bottle and appearance. Easy to drink and not too over the top with raspberries but just a tad too pricey.
8/6/2013 5:38:04 PM |
1
0 
#11 Review by Martin Sanders from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Not a bad fruit beer. Colour - clear cherry kool-aid red, pinkish thin cap. Aroma - raspberries, some tartness. Mouthfeel - medium. Flavour - nicely balanced between the tarty acidity and fruity sweetness, however the tartness lingers too long after the sweetness is gone. Overall - decent.
10/12/2011 10:57:39 AM |
1
0 
#10 Review by cyrenaica from Milton, Ontario, Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
12oz draught
6.5% ABV
Smokeless Joe (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
August 1, 2008
$0.00
The beer poured a deep semi-translucent red with a thick pink head. The aroma was raspberry with a malt hint. The mouthfeel was medium bodied, and highly carbonated. The flavour was sour raspberry, and a little grainy malt.

8/2/2008 12:23:43 AM |
1
0 
#9 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
This beer was hyped by friends before I tried it, and it failed to live up to the height. It's a nice dark red beer but the raspberry aroma is not that prevalent when compared to other raspberry items. The flavour had hints of raspberry as well, but again, I was expecting more
11/25/2007 8:02:27 PM |
1
0 
#8 Review by herbjones from Orange, CA, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
Malty brown brew. Medium/light body. Slight sourness to it. Hints of brown sugar mixed with the raspberries.
10/30/2005 11:21:41 AM |
0
0 
#7 Review by biegaman from Toronto, Canada
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
A beer very hard to score - Im not sure if Im being generous or unfair with this marking?! Certainly above your run of the mill fruit beer but either lacking or over-emphasizing a certain character. I loved the flavour and at 6+ it maintained a well balanced body; An absolutly gorgeous colour too! My complaint though, and something I just couldn't get past, is that it is very sweet and very reminiscent of a mead - only it isn't. And I found this to work very much against it! It felt like I was drinking a very poor quality braggot. It seemed it was imitating that taste and came out inferior. That might just be my opinion, but if you want a fruity, stronger drink, I would advise you go with mead. It just seems to me a superior choice for what it is.
9/3/2005 10:49:11 PM |
1
0 
#6 Review by myke from T-dot, Canada
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 4 | Overall 5 |
this beer gets two reviews- bottle and draft. both had a rael nice colour to them, but the bottle was bland; i struggled to finish the six. bottle rating-3. on return trip to the brewery, i trieed it on tap. a little better, but still way to little of the fraboise taste, smell. draft-6.
8/20/2005 9:40:31 PM |
1
0 
#5 Review by pootz from between Calgary and Waterloo, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Ceramic swing top .75 liter bottle...no date code or freshness best before date. The pour reveals a brilliant berry red liquid with amber shades...leaves a rocky light pink head that reduces to a fine lace and ring that virtually disappear half way through the drink. Well carbonated...just right for this type of drink...carbonation does not detract from the falvor departures. Nose is of fresh crushed berrys which seem to dominate the aroma. Starts very fresh and tart filled with sour berry and mildlt sweet malts then the mouth feel becomes silky but very dry with just hints of malt and light hopping...the finish is crisp of medium duration where the berries slowly give way to a dry malty aftertaste mingling with the fruit acerbity...very nice summer drink for the patio with mixed company....or good for serving with desert. Once of the best fruit beers I’ve seen domestically.
8/8/2005 8:18:19 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
Thanks to Ms. Sénécal for this one, bought a year ago at the LCBO in Ottawa, Ontario. Comes in an awesome off-white ceramic 750ml bottle. Pours a crazy-crazy-crazy tanned head that stays long enough. Lacing is mighty fine. Colour is red-purple. The beautiful nose is of raspberry purée. The mouthfeel is slightly tarty with a sourness found in the finish. The raspberry fruit in the mouth is quite mild though. Quite refreshing and not too sweet. Overall, a good fruit beer, and surprised it comes from Amsterdam Brewing.
8/6/2005 10:44:55 PM |
1
0 
#3 Review by JohnC from Mission Viejo, CA, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 10 | Overall 7 |
Thanks to mr_kimchee for this one. This beer is beautifully packaged in a white ceramic 750ml resealable bottle. Upon opening, the wonderful aroma of raspberries hits you. In the glass, the color is dark red, with some brown notes in the background. It is not transparent but a bit hazy. The flavor is decidedly sour, which is no surprise for a lambic. However, the raspberry is missing, in my opinion from the flavor. I was expecting more raspberry taste.
6/7/2005 7:48:27 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!