Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#50 Review by Sigmund from Tau, Norway
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
341 ml bottle, from Vinmonopolet, Nettbutikken. ABV is 9.5%. Black colour, moderate tan head. Aroma of coffee, roast malts and dark chocolate. Rich flavour, but not too sweet, notes of roast malts and strong coffee, also plenty of bittering hops. Hints of dark bitter chocolate and unsweetened liquorice. Good beer, but not as outstanding as expected.
6/14/2018 12:37:17 AM |
1
0 
#49 Review by Martin Sanders from Toronto, Canada
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Bottle. Colour - dark brown, almost black pour with a quite large creamy brown head. Good Lacing. Aroma - coffee, roasted malt, dark chocolate, hints of vanilla. Mouthfeel - creamy, full bodied, ample carbonation. Flavour - coffee, coffee, and more coffee balanced out with some vanilla and licorice to provide balance.
4/18/2018 12:00:21 PM |
0
0 
#48 Review by beerdog from Cloverdale, BC, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
341ml bottle from Big Ridge, and among the best $5 I've ever spent. Blacker than black pour, with an average-size tan head. Tons of coffee and dark chocolate in the aroma. Heavenly. Fabulous, luxuriant mouthfeel. Flavour was every bit as good as the aroma, generous amounts of coffee and chocolate; the high ABV was not blatant. Maybe my best-ever Canadian beer.
1/13/2016 7:18:01 PM |
0
0 
#47 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Beer Twelve of my Twelve Beers of Christmas - Wish List beer for a long time. Deep dark mahogany brown with a medium near-perfect tight head, beautiful delicate lacing throughout. The perfect cup of black coffee infused into the near perfect Imperial Stout: richly roasted, perfect smooth creamy and velvety mouthfeel, tons of toasted malts, hint of molasses and honey, ample earthy hops, beautiful perfect smooth coffee bitter linger. Beautiful stout which is World Class. So glad I found some.
1/7/2014 8:42:48 AM |
0
0 
#46 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Pours like used engine oil out of my 1956 Alis Chalmers! Has a sub one finger off white to chocolate white head that disappears quickly. Body is darker than the night and will not show any light through no matter how hard you try. Aroma is severely roasted with hints of dark roast coffee and chocolate roasted malts. Taste is dry with hints of chocolate malts and light coffee. Vanilla ice cream also come to mind with the taste. Has a slight taste like a new car smells. Slight burn but it hide the booze nicely. This one is a warmer for the winter and I would be honored to have it in my fridge again. Very nice beer.
8/26/2013 2:59:02 AM |
0
0 
#45 Review by Phishpond417 from Oregon, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
I can see why this beer is in the top 100. Holy Schnikes! Pours a thick, motor oil density, nose of deep intense bitter chocolate, burnt coffee, and heavy on the roasted walnuts. Balanced in mouthfeel. Lovely bouquet of chocolate and vanilla bean.
1/29/2013 5:41:20 PM |
0
0 
#44 Review by ggrumet from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
One of the kings of imperial coffee stouts - pour from a 12 oz bottle into a snifter is jet black with a dark brown and whispy head. Aromas range from roasted barley and earthy wood to a smokey dark roasted coffee. My bottle for review has some age on it, so the coffee has faded slightly - but it allows the malt to shine. Acidic yet thick mouthfeel accompany tastes of dark chocolate, cherries, oak and slightly sweet coffee. One of my favorites.
8/20/2012 9:11:25 PM |
0
0 
#43 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Looking pretty good! Poured a nice layer of brown head, not too thick really. ok retention. Extremely dark appearance. A bold, strong taste of roasted malts, dark coffee, and chocolate flavours abound. Almost the same for aroma, but more apparent is the coffee and hints of the alcohol coming through. Mouthfeel had some thickness like a watered down syrup or molasses (not as thick obviously). Goes down pretty easy. Nice sweet aftertaste as well as good bitterness in the finish. Love it!
7/7/2012 4:29:41 PM |
0
0 
#42 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Defianatly deserves it's ranking.Great beer in every aspect.Only problem I have with it is I have none left.Oops!I didn't leave a long enough comment.If you like imperial stout you'll love this one.
2/12/2012 2:08:26 AM |
0
0 
#41 Review by gig from Mississauga, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours dark with a dark brown head. Nice aroma, for high alcohol beer not much alcohol aroma or taste. Nicely balanced beer. Delicious. Thanks again to givmebeer for givingitome.
1/28/2012 10:43:52 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!