Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#32 Review by PaulCardom from Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Tried at a bar. This looks, feels, and tastes like an enhanced version of the brune, and that’s not a bad thing. It pours a deep dark brown with red edges and a light brown cap. Plums and raisins dominate the nose with yeast, roasted malt, and caramel in the mix. Flavour is sweet up front with notes of fruit and malt with a bitter finish and a mild yeastiness.
8/9/2014 11:14:18 PM |
1
0 
#31 Review by Martin Sanders from Toronto, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 10 |
Bottle. Colour - dark red brown, rocky light brown head. Aroma - caramel, yeast, plums, sugar. Mouthfeel - full bodied. Flavour - dark fruit, molasses, caramel, yeast. Overall - Another excellent beer, the Abbaye des Rocs beers all hide their alcohol well.
6/25/2013 12:41:03 PM |
0
0 
#30 Review by Chopz from Cantley, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
From my SAQ import group. Pours a real dark amber colour with lots of sediments. Frothy off-white head with good retention and thick creamy lace. Starts on a nutty malt nose and then lands with light sourness, dark fruits (raisins, dates) and sugars. The taste though has something that instantly turns me off (like bad wood with metal). Even worst than the rusty water tasting hops I despise. After a few sips, it thankfully goes away and shows some caramel malt, hints of dark fruits, toffee and nuts. All mild, nicely not being too sweet. No show of alcohol, so no burning. Weird to see a dark Tripel (feels more like a Quadrupel). Also, not sure why they use the word Imperial with Tripel (aren't they all Impys) ?? Tripels are my favorite style, and this one is alright, but not in my tops.
6/5/2013 8:09:13 PM |
1
0 
#29 Review by rainman from Indian Trail, North Carolina, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours opaque dark brown with low to no head. No lacing. Aroma is dark fruit, plums. Mouthfeel is sweet. Flavor is overly sweet, more like a barleywine - lots of dough, malt, brown sugar. Has a lot in common with a JW Lees Harvest.
4/11/2011 9:40:02 PM |
0
0 
#28 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
A deep chestnut colored beer with a medium sized frothy textured off white head rising above. Not much hang time But thick cap left atop the body. Mild notes of sweet sugar and sour dark fruits in the nose. Bready, darl sweet-sour fruits in the tasting. Full bodies and a degree of smoothness make this an enjoyable Abbey ale.
10/9/2010 8:19:05 PM |
1
0 
#27 Review by treborius from Uniondale, NY, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
The colour is dark red brown with a light brown head
The aroma is dark fruit and dark malt
The palate is medium
The taste is complex, slightly sweet, and a nice bitterness
Overall an excellent beer.

11/28/2009 10:55:14 PM |
1
0 
#26 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 6 |
i don't really get the fuss. i was excited to find 3 top hundred beers i've yet to try, but i hope the other two are better. maybe this was better at the source - but i doubt most of the beerpals had one that hadn't been disturbed in transit. best before 2011, erupted yet again on the pour, plenty of floaties. mish-mash aroma and flavor of the usual suspects...dark fruit like plum fig and prune, but with a slightly unpleasant note. mouthfeel nice with some warming alcohol. taste is ok, but nothing to suggest a top 100 beer. i've had belgians i've liked plenty, but i guess i think there are too many at the top, and unless i got a bad one, this is one of em.
9/9/2009 12:15:34 AM |
1
0 
#25 Review by jerrymorrison from Angleton, TX, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 9 |
Aroma of banana, cherries, caramel, plums, raisins and yeast. Apperance was a nice deep rootbeer brown with plenty of yeast floaters, good carbonation and decent lace. Flavors of fruit at first with the caramel maltiness following, the alcohol was difficult to detect. Flavors constantly change with the warming tempertures. Overall a very nice brew thats worth a try.
12/23/2008 6:19:04 PM |
1
0 
#24 Review by YumBeer from Edgewater, NJ, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
A very unique beer that is a cross between a Dubbel and a Tripel. A rust brown colored medium-bodied ale with a dark tan head that lingers. The aromas I noticed were caramel, raisins and burnt sugar while I tasted ripe fruit, port, raisins and alcohol on the palate.
9/5/2008 10:56:56 PM |
0
0 
#23 Review by changeup45 from Orlando, Florida, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
I had the Grand Cru last night, which was excellent, but I'd be hard pressed to pick a winner between that one and this one. This pours a reddish-brown color, with just a slight haze to it and a nice off-white head. Aroma is a lot of fruits, plums, cherries, figs as well as some candy sugar. The flavors are tangy and tart with yeast and lots of the same fruits in the aroma as well as a zesty floral presence. Nicely done.
8/24/2008 10:33:25 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!