Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#12 Review by cheapdark from Monacatootha, PA, United States
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
SAR ESB S5L4F3T5O10: Smells strong at first but when I pour it into the glass it goes to a mild sweeter olfactory. Looks like a lighter root beer or iced tea. Tolerable sparkling bitterness on the palate. Almost mild yet strong enough to let you know its beer. Decent esb, bitter linger but not over the top. Almost seems mildly chocolaty at times.
1/11/2009 2:01:47 PM |
0
0 
#11 Review by bigred00 from buffalo, NY, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Presentation: It was poured from a brown 12oz bottle into a pint glass. Appearance: The head builds up tall, thick and foamy. It is light tan in color and has good retention. As it slowly fades down to thin covering, which lasts until the end, it makes some slick spotty lacing on the glass. Under the head is a nice amber colored liquid with very good clarity. Smell: The aroma has a simple sweet floral hop bouquet. Taste/Mouth feel: Its flavor has a mildly sweet malty body with nice floral and citrus hops that produce a soft mellow bitterness that balances the malt flavor well. The texture has a soft easy drinking feel with good carbonation and a medium body. Notes: It had an enjoyable flavor and an easy drinking body. Overall solid.
11/25/2008 3:43:57 PM |
0
0 
#10 Review by canandaigua75 from Newfield, NY, United States
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
I liked the malty aroma and the appearance was quite nice-a dark brown coloring with a thick, white head. However, as with several Saranac products, the taste was lacking-just a hint of caramel coming through and a tinge on the bitter side.
2/10/2007 10:05:59 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by FoamDome from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
12 oz bottle, from a mixed 12 pack. Brownish gold color with decent head and lace. No where near Fuller's in aroma, taste, mouthfeel, or aftertaste.
12/31/2006 8:59:57 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by heemer77 from Urbandale, IA, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Large white head and lots of carbonation. Has a lighter copper coloring. Aroma is malty with grass and some fresh tobacco. A full mouthfeel compliments this. The taste is subtle caramel with some earthy mushrooms. A very well done beer in the style. Underrated.
5/18/2005 8:43:07 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by staleyiv from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
The aroma is bitter as well as malty with hints of spice and slight grapefruit. The appearance is a light-brown to bronze, possibly orange with a nice, off-white head that quickly diminishes to lacing and sticks to the glass. The mouthfeel is crisp and light-bodied with nice amounts of hops present and balanced with malt well. The flavor is bitter-like and crisp and clean as well as refreshing with a nice bitter finish that is wet on the pallet. Overall, not a bad ESB nut I have had better and this one could utilize the hops more to have more bitter but it still is a good beer. Thanks for another great beer nstallmaster.
4/2/2005 6:15:02 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by sudsmanPA from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
I've become a fan of Saranac's products lately, but I must say that this is not one of my favorites. Pours with a dark amber color, some degree of white head, and not much of a nose. See, I'm so proud of myself, I didn't start my review with "pours with". I digress. Flavor is of a bitter hoppiness, some maltiness is present, but mostly I noticed the bite. Mouthfeel is even, not too heavy, not too light. Unfortunately, the flavor of the bottle I had showed signs of skunk - but without the skunk it would be an O.K. brew - not their best, but O.K..
1/7/2005 9:18:12 PM |
0
0 
#5 Review by nstallmaster from Park City, KS, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours a dark amber/copper color, with great head retention and good carbonation. Aroma is nice and hoppy, but with a decent malt balance. Mouthfeel is pretty full and solid. Flavor is not bad...Flavor begins with a good, bitter bite, body is decidedly bitter, with a clean, piney bitter finish. Very good for the hop-lovers (like me).
12/3/2004 7:06:13 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by Upstate Dave from Hamilton, NY, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Poured a nice copper amber with decent head and lacing Rich malty aroma. The taste is satisfyingly bitter. A liighter body than the pale ale make this very drinkable. I look forward to this one in the 12 beers of Xmas every year. I wish they would sell it year round
11/30/2004 7:57:44 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by Cottrell from , United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Poured a dark amber with 2 fingers of head. Aroma is bready, earthy, and slightly piney. Flavors start off with a biscuit like flavor, then turn wonderfully bitter and earthy. I really like the combination of hops in this one, a fine effort from Saranac.
11/21/2004 1:23:13 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!