Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#39 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
@ PINT tasting - Light opaque dark ruby, small tanned foam ring remaining. Sour aroma and taste, quite nice, great beer. The better one of the evening. (Arnhem 201612)
12/26/2016 6:58:11 AM |
0
0 
#38 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Beer Nine of my Twelve Beers of Christmas; Wish List item that I stumbled upon at Belmont Party Supply in Dayton, OH. Bronze dark brown pour with a very tightly bubbled tan head which is short but sustained, leaving copious amounts of delicate lacing. Figs and dates, molasses, ripe fruits, toffee, earthy hops, rum cake, all in the nose and palate, with an exquisite mouthfeel and decadent linger. Fantastic ale, absolutely World Class.
1/6/2014 10:49:00 AM |
0
0 
#37 Review by thomassova4 from Roanoke, VA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A big thanks to my colleague and friend Gert for this beer. I brought this back from Denmark when I was visiting for work. It was given to me as a gift a few years ago. The bottle was a 2009. This beer was outstanding and easily rivals the Westy 8. I would have this again - fig, butter, bread, malt, caramel, toffee, banana. A complex and sensational beer.
11/2/2013 9:49:09 AM |
0
0 
#36 Review by heybeerman from Beaver Dam, WI, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
A much plummier and sticky beer than the other two, deffinitely younger but still full of flavor and one of the best belgians I have had. Thanks to pfoxyjohn for opening the cellar to share this 2010 version.
6/20/2012 9:16:57 PM |
0
0 
#35 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
This would be the perfect beer to have with you as you sail around the oceans on the boat depicted on the label. A beautiful reddish-brown pour complete with a tan head that laces well. Roasted malt, caramel, plums, and figs pop out in the aroma while the flavour is a little more subdued. A great bitter finish.
12/26/2011 5:06:24 PM |
0
0 
#34 Review by Jne5HusG from Unterleinleiter, Germany
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
330 ml capped bottle. Poured an opaque rich burgundy or dark brown nearly black coloured ale with a small one finger tan foamy head that had a quite short retention and plenty of micro bubbles. Soft carbonation. Some lacing. The aroma is heavy dark riped fruits, raisins, cherries, figs, vinous notes. The flavour is roasted coffee beans, sweety malts,brown sugar, caramel, fruity, raisins, cherries and spicy, cinnamon, orange peels and a touch of pepper. The mouthfeel is sweety, full and smooth. This full bodied ale has a long fruity and malty finish. With the aftertaste emerged a great warming sensation. A or perhaps " The " perfect choice for a long winter evening.
2/22/2011 5:21:09 PM |
0
0 
#33 Review by porterhouse from Oklahoma City, OK, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 10 |
Smells like banannas, fruitcake and an old basement. Pours syrup thick with a 3 inch head. I'm pretty sure that this is gonna be good. Oh my God! It's terrific. Taste is of brandy, bread and fruit. Just a little to sweet. Full thick mouthfeel. Chewy. Sweet, lingering finish. Been cellering this for over a year. Oh hell can't believe I already rated but here we go. Smells of sweet fermented vegimite and pours just about as thick. I like it so far. I like it alot. Taste is simply indescribable. So complex. Only thing I don't like is a metallic twinge that fades after a few swigs. Finish is metallic too. Doesn't fade as quick though. Gonna subtract 1 pt for the metal!
11/3/2010 12:55:40 PM |
0
0 
#32 Review by regspeir from Havertown, PA, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
11.2 oz. bottle into a chalice. Pours dark brown with ruby edge, almost mahogany. One-finger tan head with good retention and an average amount of lacing. Nose reveals some licorice, dark fruit (plum, raisins, dates, figs), spices (nutmeg, coriander, cinnamon), brown sugar, grapes, yeast and brandy. Taste: At first very sweet then moves to a little tart with tastes of plum, cherry, grapes. Spices follow and a hint of chocolate. Finish is almost dry, almost oaky with some sweetness and alcohol warming. Beer is full bodied, creamy with heavy carbonation. ABV is certainly not obvious so sip carefully. This is an excellent brew with some sophistication and complexity. I will absolutely revisit it.
7/25/2010 6:40:34 PM |
0
0 
#31 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
2007 vintage-poured very dark...almost stout-like, but ruby tinged when held up to light. thin tan head. strong aroma of fruit (fig/dates), malt, molasses, booze. feel is very smooth and full...one of the best for any belgian i've ever had. it was nice to not have ridiculous amounts of sediment, floaties, and overcarbonation. those thing seperate this from others. the flavor was quite good as well...more molasses and fruity malts, spice. if it had any faults, maybe it was too rich, but really no complaints. solid beer. i ever so slightly prefer the grand reserve.
1/20/2010 12:18:41 AM |
0
0 
#30 Review by HonkeyMoFo from Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
It pours a very thick dark brown with traces of red, 1/2 inch-thick tan head and copious lacing. Aroma of sweet malts, light hops, figs, and light spices. The mouthfeel is silky smooth, rich, and full-bodied. Flavors of let's see: chocolate malts, coffee beans, molasses, raisins, figs, dates, pineapple, banana maybe, nuts, light hops, alcohol, and spices. Leave it to the Belgians, this is awesome!!!
9/30/2009 9:24:25 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!