Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#30 Review by thomassova4 from Roanoke, VA, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 5 | Overall 6 |
Wow - this was a polarizing beer. It smells like wine, looks like wine, and is boozy sweet like wine - a chardonnay. I was NOT a fan; however, my wife and neighbor loved it. It's a love/hate brewski - just not for me.
9/4/2015 10:23:06 AM |
0
0 
#29 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Pours out a thin liquid in a cloudy brown color. The aroma is mostly grain alcohol and malted fruit. The mouthfeel is sort of a blend of sweet and sour. The taste is tangy with spice and malt.its better than the only other French beer that I've drank.
5/31/2014 8:28:41 PM |
0
0 
#28 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
A malty, sweet brew. Smells and tastes a little too hot, and the body is not quite heavy enough to support the abv. While not bad (the bozzy spicy sweet flavor is nice enough) it has it faults, and was pretty rough around the edges.
6/21/2012 1:39:22 PM |
0
0 
#27 Review by porterhouse from Oklahoma City, OK, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Smells more like wine than beer. Some olive oil there and it's in the taste too. Pours thin. Mouthfeel is thinner. Looks like bourbon in the glass. Taste is of strong, sweet alcohol. This tastes like carbonated Southern comfort.
11/13/2010 9:28:54 PM |
0
0 
#26 Review by Jabah from Winter Park, FL, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
These stronger ales have a wine-like feel to me, and I am not that into wine...but this had a decent flavor resembling a good Belgian blonde ale. It's hard to mask 13%, although I found this quite drinkable (if you sip it of course). Good thing is it's only 8.4 oz. so not killing yourself trying to finish 12-22 oz. Aroma is strong and fruity, sweet and sour at the same time. Appearance is a clearer malty medium yellow, with some white sediment specs in there which I am guessing is yeast. I actually enjoyed the flavor on this one, and would consider samping again if ever in France.
10/18/2010 9:24:22 AM |
0
0 
#25 Review by dogfoodman from Redwood Valley, CA, United States
Score: 2.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 4 | Overall 4 |
Not a good sign when the biggest font for the bottle is the ABV. Pours slightly haze brown tan not bad head, fairly long lasting - 3 min plus. Aroma, bit of yeast and alcohol. Flavor - not bad, just not a lot of it. Alcohol burn, some malt nothing else. -- keep you passport home, not worth the trip. The french will never be famous for this one!
6/6/2010 3:56:23 PM |
0
0 
#24 Review by Stoutlover72 from Northern, California, United States
Score: 1.5 | Aroma 5 | Appearance 4 | Mouthfeel 2 | Flavor 2 | Overall 2 |
There is a beer for everyone. This, I am pretty sure of. This particular beer, is just not for me. What an absolutely horrible waste of a bottle, let alone the ingredient it took to make this "beer". This was nothing more that rubbing alcohol flavored with malt. I'm sure this beer would do great in removing spray paint from walls, removing the bumper stickers saying W 04 off of conservatives cars, and cleaning a wound after falling off a cliff from 40 feet. But to drink this and say it's enjoyable is just too hard to comprehend.

The beer pours out medium amber color, slightly opaque with a scant off-white scummy head. Aroma is rubbing alcohol and raisins, a bit of yeast and just a whiff of something that resembled apple pie spices. That's where anything worthwhile ends. The flavor is full of alcohol spikes, reminding me of drinking rubbing alcohol or some kind of mouthwash used in the Middle Ages. Mouthfeel was hot and burning, like taking a shot of cheap whiskey. The alcohol just kills any sort of flavor of the beer, and leaves your mouth gasping for air.

I have a pretty open mind about beers. This is just not for me. It's not a quencher, it's not a sipper. It's a crapper. Ugh.

5/4/2009 1:17:24 PM |
0
0 
#23 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Aroma is strongly malty with a fierce alcohol nip. Pours a beautiful dark honey-gold that is clear and has a thick, persistent, fine-bubbled head. Flavor is pleasantly malty, but the alcohol bite is overwhelming, making it taste rather like brandy instead of beer. It goes down like liquid fire and has a strong alcohol aftertaste. It came in a small bottle (approx. 250 ml), and for good reason: It has the alcohol content of a barley wine. Two of these would have me making Virginia fence! If you like beer and brandy, you probably will appreciate this one. I enjoyed it, but I prefer a brew that tastes like beer rather than "hard" booze.
4/23/2009 10:42:07 PM |
0
0 
#22 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 2.4 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 4 |
This is an alcohol bomb. A strong alcohol content masks everything else this beer has to offer. It pours a clear golden brown with a short lived beige head. The aroma is primarily alcohol but grainy maly is present. The flavour is also dominated by the alcohol, and almost makes it undrinkable.
4/13/2009 3:14:41 PM |
0
0 
#21 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 5 | Overall 6 |
Sat July 11th 10:03 Death of BP .... Stranglely punching bag sweet ... hides the ABV quite well ... very good head for such a high alcohol level .. warms the belly ... 'i don't give a crap about woodstock' ... 1st brew from LS .. decent aroma .. an enjoyable beer that went down quite easily .. perpahs a little rough around the edges...
7/12/2008 11:10:28 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!