Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#100 Review by bucklechum from Manchester, United Kingdom
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours very dark brown with a thick head that last quite a while. Strong initial hit of raisins coffee with a wonderful lingering treacle aftertaste. Positively tongue-tingling!
5/10/2017 3:04:29 PM |
0
0 
#99 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Love Dubbels and this one is no exception. Murky dark brown. Huge frothy head to start but dies too quick.Not much lace. Dark fruit and spice aroma. Flavour has dark fruits, plums and raisins. Spice, yeast and I taste some banana. Full bodied with a nice alcohol warmth in the throat.
3/11/2015 8:16:40 AM |
1
0 
#98 Review by Stang from Vernon Hills, IL, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Dark brown color and a small, but long lasting, beige head. Aroma and taste of malt, caramel, dried fruit and some alcohol. Not as good as the trippel at all, but definately a very decent classic trappist.
2/18/2015 9:34:09 PM |
0
0 
#97 Review by Qatfish from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
I've been holding onto this one a long time, at least a couple of years if not several, with many other beers I've been carefully cellaring. This one's a beautiful dark brown, almost coffee, a bit ruddy and cloudy, with a dense cap. Aroma of raisins, dates, and sweet bread. The flavor is sweet & tart cherry and dough with just a hint of kola nut. Very tingly. Will want to retry a fresher batch sometime.
1/31/2014 4:58:29 AM |
1
0 
#96 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Another bottle I enjoyed at Bistro l'Autre Oeil in Aylmer. Pours a very frothy light brownish head and has a hazy, light brown/coppery appearance. Pretty good lacing. Fairly excessive carbonation. Yeasty sediments are clearly visible. Aromas of dark roasted malts, dark chocolate. Alcohol does come through almost immediately but not offensive along with flavours of caramel, light chocolate notes, raisins, yeast and barley malts. Warming sensation. Creamy and mildly drying mouthfeel. Goes down real nice and easy and at 7%abv, just perfect.
8/18/2013 7:17:31 PM |
1
0 
#95 Review by fargingbastige6 from Birmingham, AL, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Opaque brown with a more than ample head that hangs around for quite a while. Dried fruit - raisen - aroma in the nose and flavor with added plums and caramel to the latter. Big, malty back. Very nice.
2/26/2013 5:01:55 PM |
1
0 
#94 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Pours a semi-transparent brown with a massive 3-4 finger head that takes its sweet ass time. I could cut it with a knife. lots of carbonation like you would expect from a Trappist style beer. Aroma is sweet and a tad boozy at first but levels off. Detects strong hints of pears and raisins. Taste is fairly strong with hints of booze, caramel, and light metals. Warming feeling as it goes down. Usually Trappist brews hide the booze well but this one seems to let it all go, it isn't really a bad thing but it is not what I am used to. But as you sip on it most of the booziness goes away. Very complex beer but it is not the best Trappist I have had. Well done but I will stick with the Rochefort sisters.
1/25/2013 10:22:56 PM |
1
0 
#93 Review by ichorm from Cascadia, Canada
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
from my notes: Tiny bubbles. So drinkable. D-180 baby. Uniquely Belgian. Old world amazing. Toffee. Aside from a touch sweet, it's immensely enjoyable, and drinkable. Rum-raisin. A very slight off-taste in the finish. Such a well-balanced sweetness/drinkability. I wish I had more now. Aromazing.
11/4/2012 1:54:00 AM |
1
0 
#92 Review by keal from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Nice and tasty, it has a slightly sweet caramel, raisin taste, and is very smooth. Really enjoyable drink. Poured into a goblet and had it slightly chilled, and sampled it as it settled to room temperature. Poured the sediment into my glass near the end, and the final sips were very smooth and mellow!
7/8/2012 2:26:19 AM |
0
0 
#91 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Dark ruby color with brownish lasting foam head lacing to glass. Enjoyed this one with a friend who is emigrating to Qatar. Special occassion. Aroma is sweet, malty and a bit alcoholic. Tase is sweet, fruity, toffee and a bit sour. Slightly bitter aftertaste. (Antwerpen 201202)
6/23/2012 9:14:01 AM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!