Click here to see a sortable list of this Member's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#2068 Boundary Brewing Baltic Porter from Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
First review in years. This is a brewery hanging noto life so hopefully I can breathe life into them. THis is a thick black beer. lotsa head. Aroma is dark fruits and molasses, a very sweet take on the style. Very full bodied. Flavour is good, molasses and plummy notes up front giving way to bitter notes of chocolate and coffee.
5/9/2020 9:31:03 AM |
9
| 0 
#2067 2 Feet Brewing Barn Burner from Bangor, ME, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Nice little microbrewery with some good beers. A dark gold/medium bod colour with a 1" off-white head. Nicely balanced aroma with a hint of jalapeno, not overpowering, but noticeable. The heat comes through in the flavour which only compounds the goodness of this beer.
7/2/2017 9:00:43 PM |
4
| 0 
#2066 AleSmith Barrel Aged Speedway Stout from San Diego, CA, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
An aged bottle to go along with the fresh bottle I had eons ago.Another in a long line of barrel aged beers where the original bersion is the better version and should be left that way. It looked as good as the original speedway with a shimmering solid black appearance and a creamy dark brown head. Again, not a fan of oak and bourbon and both are here but they don't detract as much as they could have. Not something I would return to anytime soon.
4/4/2017 5:33:35 PM |
4
| 0 
#2065 Goose Island Bourbon County Stout from Chicago, IL, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
This beer is about 10 years old. First I will say that I'm not a fan of barrel aged beers. I drink beer because I like beer. If I wanted to drink wine, rye, rum oir eat oak chips, I would do just that and not mix it with beer. As far as barrel aged beers go, this one isn't that bad as the roasted malt flavours dominate the bourbon flavours. The molasses and vanilla provide some balance keeping the beer from being too sweet
4/4/2017 5:28:08 PM |
4
| 0 
#2064 Bird Dog Brewing Rabbit Hunt IPA from Mandan, ND, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
The best beer I had at Bird Dog, although based on the few I had, that isn't something to get excited about. The pour was a medium gold in colour, slightly hazy, with an ample tan coloured cap. The first thing you notice in the aroma is the hops, it's an IPA, it should be hoppy, after a few seconds, grains and caramel start to waft in. The flavour is nicely balanced between the sweet and bitter, but still nothing that punches you in the face and says 'THIS IS AN IPA'
1/14/2017 10:43:50 PM |
4
| 0 
#2063 Bird Dog Brewing Gordy's Harvest Wheat from Mandan, ND, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Not sure who Gordy is, but a brewmaster he is not. The server was unaware whether this was a Hefeweizen or an American style so I have entered it as an American Wheat as there was nothing German about it. The pour was a hazed light gold with a thin creamy white head. The aroma was very grainy, with hints of honey and spices. Flavour was also quite grainy, and the finish was .meh'
1/14/2017 10:39:09 PM |
4
| 0 
#2062 Bird Dog Brewing Bourbon Barrel Porter from Mandan, ND, United States
Score: 2.8 | Aroma 5 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Contrary to what was written on the menu, this is NOT an excellent beer. It is a borderline OK beer at best. The pour is a headless dark chocolate colour. The aroma is roasty, with weak hints of raisins and bark. The flavour is similar to most run of the mill porters with roasted malt, chocolate and a bitter finish. It sounds better than it tastes.
1/14/2017 10:34:46 PM |
4
| 0 
#2061 Bird Dog Brewing Brandy's Strawberry Blonde from Mandan, ND, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
The first beer of my North Dakota beer trip. It pours a very murky gold colour with a bit of a bubbly head. The aroma is very grainy with nary a hint of strawberry to be found, quite disappointing to be honest with you. The flavour was also quite grainy. The menu mention a fruity tartness but couldn't taste it.
1/14/2017 10:30:12 PM |
4
| 0 
#2060 St. Bernardus Abt 12 Oak Aged from Watou, Belgium
Score: 5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
A stupendous beer. Already a fan of the regular Abt 12, the subtle hints of oak and vanilla really add to the beer's character. If there is one issue I have with this beer is that it was very hard to find.
12/31/2016 3:26:27 PM |
4
| 0 
#2059 Leffe Royale from Leuven, Belgium
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
There is a rumour that this beer is available in the US, yet I see no reviews....pity. I was able top secure myself a large 750ml bottle in exchange for my first and second born's children. They were brats so it was worth the trade. A cloudy rust coloured pour with a creamy head. Light fruit and yeast penetrated the nostrils followed by toffee and grains. Flavour is toffee, figs, yeast and grass. Quite delicious I thought!
12/7/2015 11:47:27 PM |
4
| 0 
< Previous Page   Next Page >