Click here to see a sortable list of this Member's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#677 New Glarus Thumbprint Series Winter Warmer from New Glarus, WI, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
“Is fheàrr teine beag a gharas na teine mòr a loisgeas.” Pours a clear, light amber with a substantial, long-lasting white head. Mouthfeel is lighter and livelier than usual for the style, well-carbonated yet soft. Malt and bread in the nose with light, fruity toffee. The flavors are smooth and balanced, with nothing overpowering but very, very satisfying. Sweet caramel, maybe a touch of vanilla and a wisp of peat, with a lingering fruity bitterness in the finish. Gentle warmth smooths to yield pure contentment. Soooo… for a Winter Warmer, a Scotch Ale, and a Thumbprint at that – this has a lighter, thinner body than expected, milder flavors than expected, less spicy than expected, cleaner, crisper, and livelier palate than expected. From a lesser brewer one might think that this would have missed the mark, but here everything works - as if the style’s been redefined. Almost forgot - Music: "If You Were Mine" - Mary Jane Lamond & Wendy MacIsaac. These two Cape Breton artists combine to redefine the traditional as well, with Lamond’s Gaelic vocals and MacIsaac’s fiddle drawing on their shared love of Scots Celtic heritage, while presenting the song as thriving, modern music. “The little fire that warms is better than the big fire that burns.”
1/8/2013 12:08:13 AM |
1
| 0 
#676 Wynkoop April Fools Rocky Mountain Oyster Stout from Denver, CO, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 2 | Appearance 2 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 6 |
Been a while since I've reviewed a beer here, but needed to put in my two cojones about this fabulous brew. First of all, thanks to FoamDome for lopping off a couple of mouthfulls from his growler for me to taste. Has the mouthfeel of plums and cracker-jacks with a stone-solid head and a marble-like texture. Unmistakable nutty flavor - mostly walnut and chestnut - but the finish is all meatballs and coconuts. Bullocks, was this tasty! Very reminscent of a "Huevos del Toro" I once had in Tijuana.
4/3/2012 4:14:29 PM |
0
| 0 
#675 Michigan Brewing High Seas India Pale Ale from Webberville, MI, United States
Score: 3.2 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
OK, sitting at a characterless bar in Terminal A of the Detroit airport. Just got in from DC; haven't had a beer in 60+ hours, since leaving DFH in Rehoboth. Here are my choices; Heineken, Miller Lite, MGD, Miller 64, Amstel Light, Blue Moon, Rolling Rock, Corona, Corona Light, Coors Light, Labatt Light, Labatt Blue, Michelob Extra, Bud Select, BL Lime, BL Wheat, BL, Bud, Sam Adams Light, Landshark, Magic Hat 9, Killians, and Michigan Brewing Co. IPA. Consequently made my selection and, hey, this is one of the BEST beers I can ever remember drinking! Exquisite bitter flavor supplants a firm malty base. This is truly Nirvana. Don't care now if my plane ever boards. Wisconsin, where is that? New Glarus? Tyranena? Ale Asylum? Who needs them? Oh, wait. They just called my flight. The last of the pint turns one dimensional. Not much of a finish, lightly metallic. all of a sudden this tastes like one of those mealy grapefruits that has been in the fridge for months. Great Lakes, sure...but High Seas? Maybe I need to try this one again. Next trip. . . ...... Sitting on the plane, bluesandbarbq has me thinking I may have been too harsh. An hour and 28,000 feet removed from it, I now recall this being a fine beer... Gonna up the ratings a little. But ONLY a little.
12/14/2010 8:10:21 PM |
0
| 0 
#674 New Glarus R & D Bourbon Barrel Kriek from New Glarus, WI, United States
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Another fine effort from my favorite local brewery; no one does "fruit beers" better, although that classification is as adumbrative as calling Van Gogh's Starry Night a 'picture' or Beethoven's Ode to Joy a 'tune'. A vigorous pour from the 500ml bottle produces an initially dense and bubbly off-white head that rapidly breaks down leaving a thin film and faint lace. The body is a beautiful, well carbonated, bright flaming reddish amber. Aromas of mascerated cherries, oak and vanilla, with soft hints of bourbon. Palate is clean, light and lively with tart lactic sourness and an intriguing funkiness. Flavors of brilliant vinegary cherries and more wood than whiskey, the latter coming through in the long dry finish with a warmth belying its 5.5% abv. Richness, Depth of Flavor, Intensity, Balance, Harmony, Finesse, Beauty. A fine ending to the Second Annual PfoxyJohn's Bar(n) Ride. MUSIC: 'So Much Beauty in Dirt' - Modest Mouse. "Get real drunk and ride our bikes / There's so much beauty it could make you cry."
9/2/2010 11:08:51 AM |
1
| 0 
#673 Sarajevsko Pivo from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Score: 2.8 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Finally got around to trying this, a gift from Blue Lou. The most remarkable thing about this beer is the unique pull tab bottle cap - very cool! That said, the beer itself is quite drinkable and actually a fine example of a standard European lager. Pale yellow,soft malt and understated hops with a light mouthfeel and clean grassy flavor. Thanks, Louis, for this taste of Sarajevo. I Need Another Pivo! MUSIC: 'For the Fallen' by Tim O'Brien - "The seeds of this war were sewn in our father's time / And every bomb will plant some more fear and hate / Let's break this chain of history before it gets too late"
8/30/2010 8:58:24 AM |
0
| 0 
#672 Stone Ruination IPA from Escondido, CA, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Hazy yellow-gold color with a moderate white head and good lace; very similar to the Pale Ale. Here the similarities end, however. This is a much better beer than the Pale Ale, and not because it's a hop-bomb. In fact it's much less bitter than many other IIPAs bitter. But it's full and rich, fruity and malty, smooth mouthfeel, strong peach, apricot, and grapefruit nose. Delicious. MUSIC: 'They Move on Tracks of Never-Ending Light' by This Will Destroy You
8/12/2010 11:12:24 AM |
0
| 0 
#671 Stone Pale Ale from Escondido, CA, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Hazy yellow-gold color with a moderate white head and good lace; very similar to the Ruination. Mildly bitter soft grapefruit aroma. Initial smooth mouthfeel quickly turns sharp and crisp. Nicely balanced flavors of bready grain and citrusy hops. A solid APA but not that exceptional. MUSIC: 'Homeward, These Shoes' by Iron & Wine. "Homeward with heaven above me / Old road behind me, a door up ahead"
8/12/2010 11:09:31 AM |
0
| 0 
#670 Stone 13th Anniversary Ale from Escondido, CA, United States
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Pours a deep reddish-amber effervescent body with a thick billowy tan head. Clean, rich full bitter hop aroma; pine & grapefruit. Full, smooth mouthfeel. Bitter tase blends rich caramel with pithy grapefruit flavors and a touch of smoke and alcohol. Big, bold, hoppy, rich, bitter, smooth, tremendous, dynamite. My oh my, many thanks to bluesandbarbq. MUSIC: 'Tremendous Dynamite' by Eels. "Got her head screwed on real tight / Being a bomb is her birthright / She's tremendous / She's dynamite"
8/12/2010 11:00:44 AM |
1
| 0 
#669 Troubadour Blond from Ursel, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
There's much Saison character here, a pour from a fresh keg at Cooper's tavern. Flavorful and fruity; I get mostly pear, but peach and banana too - not so much from the nose, but in the taste. Flavors complemented with a peppery spiciness. Sweet turned sharply bitter mid-palate with a dry finish. Most intriguing. Nice balance between the forward fruit and the sharply bitter dry ending. MUSIC: "Take a Minute" from Troubadour by K'Naan. "I'm just gonna take a minute and let it ride / I'm just gonna take a minute and let it breeze"
8/12/2010 10:29:09 AM |
1
| 0 
#668 Julius Echter Hefe-Weiss Premium from Wurzburg, Germany
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
On tap at Coopers. Nice lemon and banana aroma. Rich yellow color. Thick white head. Good persistent lacing. Well carbonated; spritzy mouthfeel. Muted flavors of yeast, bread, spice, citrus, banana. Solid but nothing exceptional, or Premium, here. MUSIC: "Fire it Up" - Modest Mouse. "It honestly was beautifully done / Like trying to hide the daylight from the sun"
8/12/2010 9:27:17 AM |
0
| 0 
< Previous Page   Next Page >