Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#59 Review by iabeerguy from Mount Vernon, IA, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Copper pour with a nice head. Sweet smell of fruit and pine. Nice hoppy, piney bitterness that is balanced nicely with the malt flavor. A very drinkable pale ale but I wasn't as blown away with it as I thought I would be.
2/6/2012 6:52:59 PM |
0
0 
#58 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 7 |
Can't believe I'm just now trying this one. Almost clear deep amber pour with a well-sustained white head that leaves tons of lacing. Earthy hops aroma upfront, a touch of grapefruit and pine, and generous caramel malts. Taste mimics the aroma with earthy hops first immediately followed by nice sweet caramel maltiness then a very slight bitter linger, much like an English Pale Ale. Very tasty, not a freaking hop-bomb like lots of Stones. Recommended.
11/2/2011 7:10:05 PM |
0
0 
#57 Review by mitchforgie from Kamloops, Canada
Score: 2.5 | Aroma 5 | Appearance 5 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 5 | Overall 5 |
Seems brit in style, but bigger. Maybe a brit pale ale on steriods? Seems a bit acrid and skunky, could be a dirty glass I guess, on tap at Green Dragon, Portland. Must have had a bad beer, my numbers and impressions reflect no one elses.
10/30/2011 9:26:48 PM |
0
0 
#56 Review by porterhouse from Oklahoma City, OK, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
Smells fresh with some sulpher notes. Pours big and thick. Fat foam head that just won't go away. Taste like wheat, grain and malt. Where's the hops for gods sake? The finish is plain and dry. This is a straight grain brew if you like that sort of thing. Not bad at all but not what I expected for a pale ale. I think someone forgot to add the hops.
10/28/2011 5:24:37 PM |
0
0 
#55 Review by Jabah from Winter Park, FL, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
This has been on my wish list for a couple years now, but did not get around to it because a little pricey and tried other things. Grabbed a single to sample first, but worth $2 a beer IMO.....barely though. Could be at the top of my APA list, right up there with Stoudts. I find the two very similar all-around. A murky medium orangish color. Aroma of pine and citrus, but not as strong as their IPA. Flavor is well balanced....leaning slightly towards the hops vs. malt. What I really like about these is the mouthfeel, very smooth, crisp, refreshing, however you want to describe it. Something that I will return to for sure!
7/12/2011 11:57:37 PM |
0
0 
#54 Review by MissSipless from Arlington, Texas, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
This was the winner in a recent APA tasting held by a friend who's a BJCP member. It was middle of the road for me. It had a little bit of everything....good colour, decent citrusy aroma, decent body, and nice flavour.........but nothing that to me stood out and said 'wow'!
6/2/2011 10:15:56 AM |
0
0 
#53 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours a dark amber with a very large white head. Aroma is typical of its style. Taste is full bodied but a tad bit too metallic. Settles down to a smooth beer. Not too bad.
5/27/2011 11:29:41 PM |
0
0 
#52 Review by heybeerman from Beaver Dam, WI, United States
Score: 3.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Nice color but a lot of amber for a pale ale. Malty sweet nose, not very hoppy at all. Mouthfeel is light and effervescent. Flavor is grassy, with some malt and hops. It's beer flavored beer I guess, other than that nothing really spectacular here. You expect more from Stone, so despite other high reviews, go buy something else.
4/4/2011 8:53:28 PM |
0
0 
#51 Review by shrews824 from Leitchfield, KY, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Amber/copper color. Some burnt orange and yellow highlights adorn the bottom and sides. A very nice off white prominent head that was frothy and had very nice retetnion. Left plenty of lacing also. The beer appears rather hazy and cloudy. Very well balanced aromas of caramel and biscuit. Got notes of fruity citrus along the lines of a peach or something. Grapefruit is very subtle. As the beer warms the malt becomes the driving force and starts to define this beer. The flavor provides a well balanced attack of the bread, biscuit malt with the caramel malt. Some lighter bitterness really compliments the malt. Grapefruit stands out more in the taste and adds some fruitiness. Medium mouthfeel. Smooth, crisp and dry. Blankets the palate splendidly. Makes me want for another sip. What a great all around brew. Good to very good in all aspects. This would make a superb session beer in that it's easily quaffable, relatively low in ABV and really just fun to drink. A very, very nice beer.
1/31/2011 3:15:45 PM |
0
0 
#50 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
An Orange colored beer with a big frothy textured off white head. Some hang time. Settles into a light dusting of film on the sides of the glass and gentle cap atop the body. The nose is subtle caramel and some citrus. The taste is bolder and a well balanced caramel sweetness and citric bitterness. Another medium bodied winner from Stone
9/8/2010 4:50:19 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!