Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#140 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Great price at Lcbo for size of bottle! Pours a foamy average size, off-white head. Has a cloudy amber appearance, slightly murky. Weak lacing. Aromas of Belgian yeast, nutty malts and plums. Flavours of sweet, nutty malts, raisins and plums. Notes of caramel malts, earthy and resin hops. Also some hints of toffee. Average carbonation, full bodied mouthfeel. Sort of a fizzy, prickly sensation. Goes down extremely well. Good balance of malts and hops. Very good!
2/23/2014 3:44:16 PM |
2
0 
#139 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Cool! I finally got to try one of the top five rated beers. And it didn't disappoint. Beautiful dark brown color with great aroma of plums and raisins. Zero foam head when poured cold. VERY smooth with a light sweet after taste.
2/1/2014 4:10:29 PM |
1
0 
#138 Review by beerdog from Cloverdale, BC, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
330ml bottle from Lafayette Gourmet (Paris), acquired October 2009. Pour of murky dark brown, lots of sediment, and an enormous, fluffy, cocoa-hued head. Lacing abounds. Inviting aroma of yeast, spices, and dark fruit. Not a hint of alcohol, though. Silky mouthfeel. Delicious flavour, yeast, spices, dark fruits, candy, and finally some alcohol. Sweet finish yet not cloying.
1/8/2014 2:57:21 PM |
2
0 
#137 Review by AleFan from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 9 |
OK. Found this at Whole foods and decided to throw back what i had in my wagon and grad this one knowing where it is on the brew list. I popped the cork and let it breath for a minute or two. Poured out in the glass a nice toffee color and not too transparent. There was a minimal head which was the color of a nice latte. To be honest, i had Rochefort10, one this one scent was a nice clean roasted yet light fruit flavor. In the mouth, the natural bottle carbonation was really apparent. The after tastewas remeniscinet of a nice smooth wine with a pleasent taste to the alcohol finish. I was impressed. The alcohol content alone in this brew will get you there for sure. Went great with King Crab and chicken parm.
6/16/2013 6:26:32 PM |
1
0 
#136 Review by deepsouthgt from silverhill, AL, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
After several suggestions by fellow beer lovers, I decided to try this one. I was pleasantly impressed with the balance of flavor and aroma, the mouthfeel was easy and smooth. This is a beer that is not for the beginner, as the incredible variety of flavors may confuse someone not experienced in fine craft brews. Overall, as close to perfect as a beer can get.
2/1/2013 1:41:52 AM |
1
0 
#135 Review by ggrumet from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Review from a 750 cork and caged bottle split between three chalices. Murky brown appearance with an off white head. Bread like aromas with a smattering of plum and raisins make this an an enchanting quad. This is immensely complex with a thick mouthfeel. Tastes of raisins, biscuity malt, and loads of belgian candy sugar. As this warms the yeast lends a spicy and clove note that work well with the dark fruits. The complexity of this is amazing and this is worthy of its place alongside Westy 12 and Rochefort 10.
12/27/2012 7:53:48 PM |
1
0 
#134 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Dark ruby color with slightly brown colored sticking foam. Fruit tones, orange and pineapple, high alcohol but that is OK. Drinking with friends eating peanuts. (Velp 201204)
6/26/2012 3:19:52 AM |
2
0 
#133 Review by keal from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
A nicely crafted quad, not as flavorful as Rochefort 10 but similar in flavor. The yeasty taste is very similar to what Unibroue seems to use in their La Fin Du Monde, Maudite and Blanche De Chambley. Sort of like taking a Rochefort 10 and adding a little Unibroue to it. Nice, and not extremely funky like some of the more adventurous quads. Because this is the same price for me as a Rochefort 10, I'll buy Rochefort over this every time. But this is no sloucher. Clearly a heavyweight in the world of quads, and a must-try for every beer lover!
5/4/2012 6:30:20 PM |
1
0 
#132 Review by subsonic from Pataskala, OH, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
The beer pours great with a nice deep brown, mahogany color to it that passes almost no light, a nice two finger brown head, and some lacing on the glass. The beer smells great with a nice blend of raisins, red plum, and a hint of brown sugar. The taste is outstanding with a solid flavor of raisins and dark fruit with a somewhat boozy finish but blends well together. The mouthfeel is outstanding as the beer is perfectly carbonated and somewhat sweet and dry. Overall, an outstanding quad...
10/11/2011 6:08:57 PM |
1
0 
#131 Review by ichorm from Cascadia, Canada
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Had this on tap at BierCraft in Vancouver. Highly recommended, especially if you dig Belgian beer. Darker than I was expecting, but did not diasappoint. It pretty much ruined my taste buds for the night. Deep, complex flavours, so much head, and about as beautifully balanced as any beer on the planet. I am completely astounded that the Belgians have perfected a way to make 10+% beer taste to smooth. Amazin'
7/18/2011 2:08:53 AM |
2
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!