Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#12 Review by Suds McDuff from Suds City, AleTown, TX, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
came close to buying a bottle of this a couple of times just because it was one of the only things in store that i hadn't had, lucky i found out when going through some backlogs- i'd actually had it.. woo! .. Tap @ the Hay Merchant .. . pours brown .. medium foam, lacing is quite good .. . light bitterness, medium roast, and burnt to crisp caramel .. . light mouth .. medium finish .. did the job and an ok example of a black ipa but nothing to fancy .. . . i drank a lava lamp, it wasn't lava..
7/14/2012 4:06:25 PM |
0
0 
#11 Review by mattfungus from DePere, WI, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
sour in the mouth with a woody taste, not oak, not piney, reminds me more of acorns. Very tannicky, though not oakey. Has a nice fat head that goes down slow. Like the dyslexic parody of god zilla.. Got mine in ashland wi at a liquor store. My first dark ipa. I drank half the pint bottle, then half of that a day later, then half of that a day later, than the rest three days later. As the days progessed it got... now you were thinking flat, but no, I have these special copper and rubber caps that keep that from from happening, no what I was going to say was that it got less sour and more of the dark flavor came through, though it did have more of a pencil shavings flavor. For those of use who remember what pencil shavings smell like its a nice aroma.
2/16/2012 11:27:46 AM |
0
0 
#10 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Nearly black pour with a tight cream long-lived head and huge drapes of lacing. Chocolate-pine aroma with a dash of citrus hops, some caramel malts. Taste is a meld of cocoa-pine hops, very lightly sweet molasses, a touch of orange. Another good hoppy dark ale. Worth seeking, tasty.
3/30/2011 3:04:29 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by Flashpro from Media, PA, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Dark brown with a nice and full tannish-white head. Aroma is very sweet with lots of caramel, unlike any other I've tried. Lots of thick lacing. Citrus hop scents start to sneak out from behind the sweet malt. Nicely balanced. Finish is bitter, but better than other Black Ales I've had. I've seen reviews on here and other sites of people complaining about infections. Too bad for them, because I really liked this beer.
2/17/2011 1:17:07 AM |
0
0 
#8 Review by doulos31 from Middletown, DE, United States
Score: 3 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Had this twice. Meh. Dark pour, okay head and lacing. Hoppy aroma of pine intermingled with a roasted caramel malt. Flavor similar...this is definitely more of an ipa with some roasted malt thrown in rather than the hoppy porter character some black IPA’s have. I prefer the latter. Plus, this has a real funky off-flavor that was rather unpleasant..like a creamy lactic flavor. Meh.
2/5/2011 1:25:01 PM |
0
0 
#7 Review by eaglefan538 from DE, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Bottle from SL. Deep brown black pour with a pillowy rocky head. Aroma was citrus and pine hops over a nice roast. Flavor followed with some licorice and chocolate and dark fruits and caramel under it all. Firm and dry but pleasant bitterness. A nice one, comparable to the Iron Hill Black IPA I did not too long ago in WC. I’m diggin’ these.
12/11/2010 3:12:48 PM |
0
0 
#6 Review by Cybercat from Atlanta, GA, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
Strong aroma is like freshly baked rye bread with an undertone of yeast and just a hint of citrus. It pours a clear, dark mahogany with a thick, fluffy, fairly persistent, pale tan head. Flavor is more rye-like and yeasty than hoppy, rather bitter, hint of grapefruit. Texture is smooth as soymilk and just a little bit tingly, leaving behind a sharp, slightly bitter, rye finish. OK, but I have had better.
9/22/2010 8:57:33 PM |
0
0 
#5 Review by RJA from Palm Springs, FL, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 4 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
A deep brownish mahogany colored beer with a big frothy textured, tan head. Good hang time and an impressive lacing of thick film on the sides of the glass and thick cap atop the body. Roasted malt and a ‘wash cloth scent’. Thick like a stout. Roasted, bittering coffeeand citrus hops in the tasting. Except for that ‘wash cloth’, this is pretty good.
9/10/2010 4:49:18 PM |
0
0 
#4 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 5 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
pours dark brown...little light gets through. very hoppy nose up front followed by rosted malt. feel is ok...a bit carbonated and a touch thin. flavor is pretty unique, even for a black ipa. it reminds me (slightly) of stone's 13th av. ale, but like a redheaded stepchild, not really kin. but theres a weird spicy hop flavor not present in the aroma, it's a bit weird but works with the heavy malt. finishes dry.
11/11/2009 9:44:04 PM |
0
0 
#3 Review by BrotherBrando from Madison, WI, United States
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
This is a really dark IIPA. Tis more sweet and malty than hoppy, as traditional IPAs tend to be. The nose is carroty and smells like pee-pee kind of. It's got a bit of bark on the bite.
8/26/2009 11:05:39 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!