Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#59 Review by hantran from New Fairfield, CT, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Mild nose, honey, grassy fields, biscuit. Nice frothy head not much lace atop a very warm amber body. Mouth is creamy and full with a good tingle factor and nicely slick. Bitter, green, apricot pith, wildflower honey, alcohol fairly well masked, almonds, clean dry finish. About as good as a classic DIPA gets.
5/21/2020 11:40:09 PM |
5
0 
#58 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
There's many quality Ipa's out there but Hopslam is balanced so well it helps it stand out. Nice appearance with its long lasting head and great lacing. Strong pine aroma. Flavour is pine, grapefruit and floral. The dollop of honey sure helps the malt backbone. Smooth and very easy to drink.
7/19/2014 12:26:28 AM |
2
0 
#57 Review by Qatfish from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 4.1 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
FoamDome brought some of this to a Mardi Gras shindig, and I'm glad he did. Translucent gold and retains a thin ring & film of foam for a long time. There's big grapefruit up front here, with some piney mango, but what really surprised me was the hint of grapes-- or, more accurately, muscadines. Thick and smooth with tiny bubbles. Good at any temperature. Very impressive.
2/13/2013 12:43:25 AM |
2
0 
#56 Review by mattfungus from DePere, WI, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Tried this last year and I was like wow! I recall it did have a mead backflavor (not surprising since it has honey) was more surprised a couple of months later when I started seeing on beer advocate how many people were begging for it to be traded with them and that people were auctioning it on e-bay. Don't usually like imperial ipas as much but this one is great!
3/29/2012 11:46:44 PM |
1
0 
#55 Review by jlozier from Lone Pine, CA, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
This is one helluva beer. I don't taste any of that 10%. The honey texture, not just the flavor is present in the beer. It leaves that same "spoonful of honey" film on the roof of the mouth and in the back of the throat. Simply beautiful floral hop character that synthesizes divinely with the honey...makes for a picture of bumblebees and hop cones in my head. Damn close to one of the best IPAs I've ever had. So glad I shared this with my friend who loves this style. Thanks for sending this to me, Louis!
10/5/2011 11:58:13 PM |
2
0 
#54 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Wow! This one is very unique. Taking the hops to the next level and dumping a lot more in to the beer. Perfect 10 on aroma, can't get better than this. Flavor is excellent, quite a bite to it and is slightly sour. Slightly hazy amber color with a fluffy white head. Get this and drink it up!
6/18/2011 12:15:00 AM |
1
0 
#53 Review by Cybercat from Decatur, GA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Comes out of the tap a pretty clear, dark amber with a fine-bubbled off-white head. Aroma is monumentally hoppy, promising a serious IPA. Flavor is hoppy in the extreme, making this beer taste like a liquid pine tree. There is just a hint of honey sweetness that nicely offsets the firm but not fierce bitterness. Texture is rough and tingly, leaving behind a strong fizz. Recommended to all hop-heads.
4/4/2011 10:04:34 PM |
1
0 
#52 Review by bluesandbarbq from Oak Ridge, TN, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Holy Ninkasi, Mother of all Beers! This was an unexpected surprise finding (that they had any left!) at Liquor Barn in Lexington on a recent excursion. Wish list item too - for a long time... Beautiful light honey amber pour with a thin white head and big drapes of lacing. HUGE hops aromas of peaches, mangoes, grapefruits, then a though of pine, followed by more candied fruit and malts, sweet floralness - honeysuckle and slight honey. Taste is intensely hoppy albeit sweet with the ultra aforementioned mango/grapefruit/peach flavor rolling across my taste buds with a wonderful zing and zestfulness, almost tingling and jolting the senses. Bitter then offset by the fruity and sweet maltiness. EPIC beer, glad I found it, even at the high price it is worth every penny.
3/27/2011 7:26:15 PM |
3
0 
#51 Review by oh6gdx from Vaasa, Finland
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Bottled (from Cracked Kettle). Deep orangeish golden colour, mediumsized white fluffy head. Aroma is huge fruity and floral hops along with rather sweet alcoholic notes as well as some slight notes of mild cookies and bisquits as well. Flavour is big time the same in a rather crisp and biting way. Flavour is really wellbalanced for being such a bomb, also hides the alcohol very well in the flavour.
3/24/2011 5:49:28 AM |
2
0 
#50 Review by heybeerman from Beaver Dam, WI, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Bright gold color, just a touch of haze, nice frothy white head. Scent is very grapefruity with a touch of pine, very fruity overall. Extremely astringent with strong grapefruit flavors, very crisp beer. I really like this one but it is a bit cost prohibitive, you do get what you pay for though.
3/13/2011 4:49:30 PM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!