Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#71 Review by Cybercat from Decatur, GA, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours clear mahogany with a thick and fairly persistent buff head. Aroma provides red wine, roast malt, tart dark fruit and subtle woody notes. Flavor gives tart dark and stone fruit, wine, roast malt and not-so-subtle woody hop tones - quite sour, and very pleasing. Texture presents firm, smooth body with peppy fizz and a wine-like finish. This cru is grand!
3/21/2020 8:02:39 PM |
1
0 
#70 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 3.3 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Pours out a extremely dark brown color with out a head. The aroma smells like vinegar. The mouthfeel is very sour like cheap wine. The taste is bitter and like sour fruit. Not something I would want again.. It's like drinking home made wine.its sort of like cheap champaign.
8/8/2014 10:09:07 PM |
1
0 
#69 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Rich looking reddish/brown pour. Nice head to start but dissipates to a thin cap. Leaves the odd spot of lace. Sour, fruity and metallic aroma. Flavour is sweet and sour. Almost wine like, some cherries, very tart apples and vinegar. Medium and smooth mouthfeel/medium carbonation. Not a style I am very familiar with and at first I had some doubts I'd like it. By the end of the bottle I wished I had more. Lots of good funky stuff in that beer.
12/30/2013 9:35:07 PM |
1
0 
#68 Review by rainman from Indian Trail, North Carolina, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Pours dark brown. Very lively flavor profile - sweet and sour. Some tart, some vinegar, some bitter, some sweet. Very nice, I should have opened this up sooner!
4/20/2013 8:34:14 PM |
1
0 
#67 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
pours a dark red with a moderately sized off white head. The aroma is balsamic vinegar, oak, juicy fruits (cranberry, dark cherry, grape, plum). The taste is a bit sour, a fair bit of oak, some nice fruit flavours (cranberry, plum, currents, grape, cherry), balsamic vinegar. The mouthfeel is medium bodied, moderate to low carbonation, dries the mouth.
2/17/2013 2:49:28 PM |
1
0 
#66 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Pours a dark burgundy color with an off white one finger head that seems to stay aloft for a long time, regenerating because of the maelstrom of carbonation in the glass. Aroma is extremely sours and smells kinda like the inside of a wine barrel. The scent dances around in your nose and is quite wonderful taste is very, very sour to start with. Strong presence of cherries, pears, and wine grapes. The taste dances on the tongue for a split second then instantly disappears. Aftertaste is ever slightly metallic. This is one of the best tasting beers I have ever had.
2/10/2013 10:44:09 PM |
1
0 
#65 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 2.9 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
Hazy dark brown with small light foam head. Aroma is fruity, so is taste with some oak tones. These beers we always drink at a end of a beer tasting evening, desert and for that they are perfect to us. (Velp 201206)
11/2/2012 4:54:37 AM |
1
0 
#64 Review by ggrumet from Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 6 | Overall 7 |
750 ml caged and corked bottle poured into two wine glasses - dark red with loads of carbonation. Vinegar dominates the nose with tones of cherry and faint notes of oak. Muted flavor profile - I expected a bit more funkiness - but the aforemention vinegar blended with soy/balsamic is predominent. This is easy to drink and refreshing, but it is not as sour as I would have expected.
10/28/2012 9:04:32 PM |
1
0 
#63 Review by MarkFraghert from Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Score: 4.7 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Bottle, Draught
Aroma: vinegar, yeast, cherries
Appearance: clear copper, this white head
Mouthfeel: crisp, clean, full bodied
Flavour: copmplex combination of sweet malt and tart cherries
Overall: Truly an oustanding sour ale

4/14/2012 4:05:11 PM |
1
0 
#62 Review by heybeerman from Beaver Dam, WI, United States
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
One of the best I've had of the style, really great experience from beginning to end. Nice deep brown with ruby reds in the light. Smelled very lively, tart sours and candi sugar sweets. Wasn't overly fizzy which made it seem more like regular beer, something I like. Really sour up front followed by a grapey juiciness and sweet malts/sugars. I would drink this even if I didn't want a sour.
3/4/2012 10:26:08 AM |
1
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!