Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#17 Review by Phishpond417 from Oregon, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 7 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
Felt inspired to rate a couple brews this morning. Had the opportunity to try this beer several times on draft this past spring. With all the hype surrounding it, I expected much more. The cloying sweetness of this beer was hard for me to get around. Way too sweet. Hops were all cat pee. When PTY first came out, it was really one a kind. Now there are a plethora of double, triple IPas out there that can easily rival it.
6/21/2013 1:33:41 PM |
0
0 
#16 Review by slowrunner77 from Reno, NV, United States
Score: 4.8 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
all i can say here is deserving of the hype. it's actually unfortunate it's so hard to get. this was the easy winner for me and two friends at the 11th dbl ipa fest in hayward. super fresh, bright, aromatic grapefruit and orange. sweet and makeyourmouthtakenotice bitter at the same time. big bodied. had a PTE (one of my favorites) right after to gain some perspective as PTE is my 2nd highest rated hoppy brew at 4.7. Now it's third, I guess.
2/15/2011 4:44:02 PM |
0
0 
#15 Review by lenusik from Montreal (Verdun), Canada
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
I love Imperial IPAs, but this was an exception as this was a little too sweet for my liking. Beautiful orange in colour, cloudy, thin off-white head. Caramel malt, pine, and grapefruit dominate the aroma. The flavour is too sweet, and overpowers the hoppy goodness I was craving. I was told that this is a hugely popular beer (albeit limited availablility) so only 15 reviews startles me.
10/20/2010 11:45:48 AM |
0
0 
#14 Review by PaulCardom from Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
The best thing about this beer is the ornamental lamp-like growler. After you finish the beer you can put a candle in it. A golden beer, almost clear, and plenty of head. The aroma is citrusy hops, some malt, but definitely hoppy. The flavour is all hops, and not very well balanced.
9/23/2010 11:58:49 AM |
0
0 
#13 Review by MissSipless from Arlington, Texas, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
A spring draught beer sampled at the brewery, and a great sampling it was. Certainly the hoppiest beer I have ever had. Lots and lots of hoppish goodness. It comes through in the nose and comes through in the flavor. Citrusy!
8/17/2010 11:08:59 PM |
0
0 
#12 Review by regspeir from Havertown, PA, United States
Score: 4.9 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
I doubt I have much to add to the raving about this beer except to echo my affection. It pours a copper, golden orange w. good carbonation, a decent, albeit thin head and lacing all the way down the glass. The nose is a floral, citrus, hoppy explosion with pineapple, orange, lemon zest but especially grapefruit. The taste, while not what I would describe as complex, was just...well...perfection - bitterness perfectly offset by sweetness and malt and a peppery grapefuit fresh aftertaste. There is evidence of the alcohol in the warming finish but no hint of the 11% (so beware!). In short, maybe there is a better beer out there somewhere, but I have yet to find it; This is an awesome beer.
5/21/2010 3:49:50 PM |
0
0 
#11 Review by mdsmith from Baltimore, MD, United States
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
Thanks to thomassova4 for sharing this beer with me. I know a lot of work went into tracking down this bad boy, and getting it here. I'm going to spare the description of the appearance and aroma, since it's already been covered on previous reviews. I will simply say that if you're a hop head you absolutely have to try this one... you certainly won't be sorry !!! Being that I'm not a real hop lover(although I do appreciate a good IPA), this was almost too hoppy for my taste, and was definitely a tasting beer, but I'm happy to have tried it. Again, I you love hops, you just can't go wrong with this one.
5/5/2009 10:48:49 AM |
0
0 
#10 Review by jerrymorrison from Angleton, TX, United States
Score: 4.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 9 | Overall 10 |
Had this on tap at Trinty brew pub in Colorado Springs Co. Super hop bomb are the best three words to describe this stuff. Orange- amber body, decent cap and head with good lace. Strong pine aroma with some floral notes, Flavor was similar to the aroma, it was creamy and heavy with citrus accents. Very smooth and the alcohol is well hidden, look out :)- a must try for hop heads.
3/20/2009 10:56:16 PM |
0
0 
#9 Review by thomassova4 from Roanoke, VA, United States
Score: 5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Folks - this is the best IPA I've ever had. It BLOWS away my three IPA gold standards (Smuttynose IPA, Stone IPA, and DFH 90 Min IPA). What separates PtY from those mentioned is the balance of the brew. Namely, PtY is full bodied, hoppy as shit, but very mellow and very palatable. This level of hop sophistication is NOT found in any other IPA while still maintaining a sensible balance - again, this beer is mellow and smooth. I would HIGHLY recommend this beer to the hop heads. The problem is that it is hard as SHIT to land a sample of this Godly nectar. To that end, trade for it when you can, or pay the premium for a taste - it really is worth it. Thanks Jeff for the trade (Westy 12 abt for GROWLER of PtY) and MdSmith for sharing it with me. Hands down, PtY is the hoppiest beer you will EVER have - a masterpiece indeed. PtY is balanced, hoppy, and yet silky in the mouth. PtY has heavy lacing and sticks to the pint glass like glue. PtY bites from start to finish - a feature unfounded by the IPA's known to the IPA enthusiast (even in Smuttynose IPA). PtY smells delicious - like a freshly cut grapefruit. The flavor closely tracks the aroma and does not disappoint if you are a hops fan. If you have the occasion to try this brew - think twice not - JUST DO IT!
2/11/2009 11:23:06 PM |
0
0 
#8 Review by killpineapple from Riverside, CA, United States
Score: 4.9 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Oh. My. God. Found this on tap at Tustin Brewing Company. All the taste of Pliny the Elder in an even more luscious form and a boost of 11% ABV. This is the most magical beer I've ever had, It didnt have quite the aroma I was expecting...was hard to find that distinctive Russian River-ness. Pours a red-tinger deep amber, tastes of grapefruit, grape, lemon, piny hops, floral hops, hops, hops, hops. It was all I could do to not hug the glass all night.
2/7/2009 12:40:19 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!