Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#71 Review by Ross A from Greensboro, NC, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 5 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
I enjoyed this beer at a beer dinner last winter. It wss paired with a tapas course of duck confit in a pastry wrap with a winter squash puree and a couple strips of root vegtable. It was perfect! This could be the best with turkey as well. Crisp, fruity, not near as sweet as white zinfindel. I don't know the cost because it was part of a package price for the dinner.
8/24/2014 10:58:23 AM |
0
0 
#70 Review by Qatfish from Alexandria, VA, United States
Score: 3.7 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 7 |
This bottle has been carefully cellared for a few years. For some reason I thought it was framboise, which I've reviewed before and wanted to test after some maturing. Nope, kriek. I'll have to compare it to fresh in the future. The color is very ruddy brown with just a hint of fine white lace on top. It smells of sweet candied cherry over a light base of raisin and lemon. The flavor is both quite tart and extremely sweet, reminding me of Lance brand "Michigan Cherries" candy from my childhood. A bit of apple cider, raisin, and lemon can also be discerned, but this is all about Michigan Cherries nostalgia-- good if you like them, as I do, but seems too unnatural if you don't. Little carbonation is left, but it takes the form of lovely microscopic fizz. Wet and clean.
3/30/2014 6:00:00 AM |
0
0 
#69 Review by heybeerman from Beaver Dam, WI, United States
Score: 3.6 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 8 | Overall 6 |
Tastes like cherries for sure, smells like them too. Very sweet, almost too much, you need some flavor variety to get through these, try them all together and at the bar(n) if you have the chance.
8/17/2013 7:57:46 PM |
0
0 
#68 Review by Jne5HusG from Unterleinleiter, Germany
Score: 3.5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 6 | Flavor 6 | Overall 6 |
375 ml capped and corked bottle, as Kriek Foudroyante and a 3.5 % ABV. Poured in the original Lindemans Kriek Lambic stemmed glass a clear and oak-reddish-burgundy coloured Fruit Lambic with a one finger pink and creamy foamy head that had a very long retention and tons of micro bubbles. Sustained carbonation. Good lacing. The aroma is cherries stones, sourish cherries and sugary-sweety tones. The flavour is powerful sweety cherries, brown sugar and clearly noticeable sourish-tarty tones. The mouthfeel is crispy, prickly, sparkling, quite thin and sweety. This light to medium bodied Fruit Lambic has a long fruity and sweety finish. May be a one way Kriek, but the way is pretty nice.
7/25/2013 12:52:53 PM |
0
0 
#67 Review by Hannah from OK, United States
Score: 3.4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 4 |
So in fairness, I reviewed this by style, so I have it some good numbers. Pours bright, hot pink with a tall pale pink head. Smells like sweet cherries. Tastes like a sonic cherry limeade with a hint of yellow beer beer, maybe kinder to say a cherry shandy (which I am not certain there is such a thing.). Tasty, but not very beer like and I am inexperienced in the lambic world so its hard to say how this one compares.
5/25/2013 11:50:44 PM |
0
0 
#66 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Capped and corked dark green bottle. Pulled the cap off and the cork was leaking through. Pours a cloudy ruby red with a pink one finger head. Lots of carbonation. Lots of black chunks in it. Aroma is Very much of fruit with a tad bit of cold medicine. Taste is tart with a big hit of cherries and some raspberry. Aftertaste is very tart. I had low hopes for this one after looking at the cork and the chunks in the bottle but this is a very nice Lambic.
2/17/2013 8:26:31 PM |
0
0 
#65 Review by pootz from between Calgary and Waterloo, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
A cloudy red brew with a short lasting cap, classic lambic aromas mingle with cheey aromas. Sparkling palate, Has all the musty pucker of a good lambic and the natural cherry fruit tastes but for my tastes it is a tad sweet, the adjunct sweetness cheapens the drink IMHO.
1/2/2013 7:57:26 PM |
0
0 
#64 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 2.6 | Aroma 6 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 4 | Flavor 4 | Overall 6 |
Bright red with redish foam head. Aroma is sweet fruit, cherries. Taste likewise, too sweet. A lemonade with alcohol, not my style. (Last bottle purchased in Antwerp and drank in Velp 201206)
12/14/2012 4:27:10 AM |
0
0 
#63 Review by richsbeer from Circleville, OH, United States
Score: 5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
Pours a black cherry color, with minimal head an lacing. Wonderful color. The aroma is Cherries with a slight hint of yeasty note, smells more like champagne than beer. The taste is black cherry with a hint of mild spice. More like sparkling wine like than beer. For a fruit beer it is more fruit than anything else, but not cloyingly sweet in any way. Wonderful balance between carbonation and flavor. The mouthfeel is not overly syrupy, but not watery either. A nice balance with a bit of a bite in the finish. Overall: Another great example of what a fruit beer should taste like.
5/31/2012 4:36:33 PM |
0
0 
#62 Review by keal from Maui, HI, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
If you've ever had sparkling apple juice or cider, this is like a sparkling cherry juice. It's carbonated cherry. Pure sweet cherriness. It's nice, but sort of a novelty drink in my opinion. Quality brew, but seemingly this can't be paired with any type of food - maybe chocolate, but that's about it. For its premium price in the U.S., along with its low alcohol content, this isn't a session drink, nor a sipper. Rather than complex, this is a cherry drink that holds no surprises, but it is kind of exciting. A blast of flavor in every sip. Try it! Not recommended, but still, this is quality. FYI - Take off the foil top, pop the beercap, and there's a cork in the top, so you'll need a corkscrew.
5/12/2012 6:20:51 PM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!